Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
World and Regional History Websites
Best of History Websites
An award-winning portal that contains annotated links to over 1,200 history web sites.
British History Online
A digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles.
The Avalon Project
An online collection of digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. A project of Yale Law Library that covers ancient times through the 21st century.
African Studies Internet Resources
Columbia University’s collection of bibliographic resources and research materials on Africa, available online. Resources are organized by region, country, and topic.
Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC)
A portal to online resources about the political, economic, social and cultural history of Latin America developed by the University of Texas.
National Resource Centers for Russia/East Europe
This page from the University of California at Berkeley’s Institute of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies provides links to additional Central Asian Studies programs at over one dozen universities.
The History Channel
This cable television station offers programming related to historical events and people. Search for videos and print articles on a wide variety of U.S. and world history topics.
(Brigham Young University Libraries)
Using the same technology as Wikipedia, the Brigham Young University Library has compiled an extensive bibliography of primary and secondary sources from throughout Europe.
Use the websites listed below to find freely accessible (open access) dissertations from the United States and other countries.
Most universities with Institutional Repositories will be indexed by Google.Try searching for keywords, author, title, or academic institution in Google Scholar, along with the word "dissertation" to check for full-text availability.
Largest online provider of open access dissertations internationally
A collaborative program between Library and Archives Canada (LAC) and nearly 70 accredited Canadian Universities
WorldCat Open Access
Catalog of millions of records that represent open access resources; not just dissertations.
Boston Public Library Online - BPL