Library Home: Clinical Counseling Psychology : Journal Articles & Databases

Search Tips

AND	Media AND bias	Narrows the search to entries containing *both* terms
OR	Beer OR wine	Broadens the search to entries containing *either* term
NOT	Bat NOT baseball	Excludes entries containing the second term
“ “	“social work”	Retrieves results containing the exact phrase in quotes
?	Globali?ation	Wildcard: retrieves both globalization and globalisation
*	Doctor*	Truncation: Retrieves doctor, doctors, doctored

If you've got a citation

If you already have a citation, the title of journal, it's ISSN, or would prefer to browse journals by a particular subject, follow the steps below:

Click on the Journals tab from the library search bar
Choose from the following options in the drop-down menu to the left of the search box: Title begins with, title equals, title contains all words, or ISSN equals.
Enter all or part of the journal title and then select the SEARCH button. Make sure that you are entering the title of the journal, not the title of the article itself.
Locate the correct title from the results list.
Select the title with the dates that you need and choose the database name next to your preferred dates.
You will be redirected to another screen where you can search for your article.
If the journal or date you want is not available, order the article through interlibrary loan using the link below.

Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)
Borrow from other libraries with our interlibrary loan system. *Articles & book chapters will be sent electronically and books will be available at the front desk unless you request to have them mailed to you.*

Source Evaluation Charts & Tools
This section of the Resource Process research guide includes straightforward ways to investigate the quality of a given source.

Lateral Reading
Though this video is on the longer side, it covers an key evaluation tool. Lateral reading consists of going outside a source through the use of tools like Google or Wikipedia to verify author expertise, source quality, study funding, among other topics.

Databases

Psychology Focused Databases
Interdisciplinary Databases

PQ One Psychology
This database provides access to many of the same scholarly and trade articles that appear in PsycInfo and PsycArticles, as well as new video collections documenting counseling sessions, historical psychological experiments, and related material. Content in this database can be organized by therapeutic approach (group counseling, family counseling, etc.) or presenting issue (anxiety, depression, etc.)
PsycArticles (APA)
Find full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
PsycInfo (APA) 1887-Current
Comprehensive international coverage of scholarly literature in psychology. Includes articles from more than 1300 periodicals in over 25 languages.
PubMed
Comprehensive index to articles in the field of medicine.
ScienceDirect Health & Life Sciences College Edition
For full text, set Source to Subscribed journals

Academic Search Premier
Provides full text for nearly 3,970 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more.
JSTOR
A database of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines including some volumes dating back to the 19th century.
Proquest Central
Includes databases across all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion. The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports.
Statista
Statista integrates statistical data from over 80,000 topics in areas such as business, education, finance, media, politics, society, and technology. Statista gathers data from over 20,000 sources, including market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Datasets cover 170 industries and over 150 countries. The reports, charts, infographics, and statistics found in the database can be viewed online or downloaded.

Finding a Full-Text Journal Article

Some of our databases provide full-text articles (indicated by a PDF or HTML link after the citation). Others only show you the titles of articles. For these, click Article Linker to find out whether we own the journal in print and/or online.

If we do not have access to the article you need, you can request it (free of charge). After logging into your InterLibrary Loan account, the system will automatically fill out the necessary information - you just need to hit Submit Request at the bottom of the page!

New Users to the InterLibrary Loan service, may set up an InterLibrary Loan account here:

Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)
Borrow from other libraries with our interlibrary loan system. *Articles & book chapters will be sent electronically and books will be available at the front desk unless you request to have them mailed to you.*

Clinical Counseling Psychology : Journal Articles & Databases

Search Tips

If you've got a citation

Source Evaluation

Databases

Finding a Full-Text Journal Article

How to use the Article Linker icon