Biological & Physical Sciences: Websites

"iBiology's mission is to convey, in the form of open-access free videos, the excitement of modern biology and the process by which scientific discoveries are made."

This USGS site works to "provide the scientific understanding and technologies needed to support the sound management and conservation of our Nation's biological resources. focuses on biological aspects of natural resource management issues."

Provided by the National center for Biotechnology Information (part of NIH). Organized into a “bookshelf” with chapters broken into parts and areas of the human body affected by the genes. Summarizes 80 genetic disorders, and is continually increasing. Some images.

"This collection contains bibliographic citations for resources that cover ethical issues related to human genetics including research, biobanks, etc. It is a database created by the staff at the Bioethics Research Library."

Is”a national resource for molecular biology information, NCBI creates public databases, conducts research in computational biology, develops software tools for analyzing genome data, and disseminates biomedical information – all for the better understanding of molecular processes affecting human health and disease. Awesome provider of information- even the About Page is helpful.

Provides information about reactions for chemicals, hazardous or not, and can look up the physical properties, response remedies, reactions, and other information.

From the Royal Society of Chemistry, a chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 67 million structures.

Provided by the National Physical Laboratory, includes tables of data, formulae, graphs and charts.

This site provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program.

Provides access to the holdings of NIST Physical Measurement Laboratory online data organized by element.

"The Organic Chemistry Portal offers an overview of recent topics, interesting reactions, and information on important chemicals for organic chemists."

Provides detailed, reliable, and carefully checked procedures for the synthesis of organic compounds.

The GreenFacts Initiative is a non-profit project with an independent Scientific Board and a non-advocacy policy. Our Mission is to bring complex scientific consensus reports on health and the environment to the reach of non-specialists. "GreenFacts publishes clear, faithful, and verified summaries of existing scientific reports on health, the environment and sustainable development."

An archive of the world's climate data from the last 150 years.

A knowledgebase of UN and intergovernmental activities addressing global climate change.

Information on environmental topics, laws & regulations.

From the dept. of Environmental protection (EPA), the impact statements are current and past.

Provides "stewardship, products, and services for geophysical data from our Sun to Earth and Earth's sea floor and solid earth environment, including Earth observations from space."

"The U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA) collects, analyzes, and disseminates independent and impartial energy information to promote sound policymaking, efficient markets, and public understanding of energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment."

National Centers for Environmental Information "provides the paleoclimatology data and information scientists need to understand natural climate variability and future climate change."

The NIF Discovery Portal connects researchers directly to more than 300 biomedical databases. Search across them all, or limit your search by category or resource type.

Source of information on current NINDS-supported research on neurological and neurodevelopmental disorders and basic neuroscience.

This free resource provides access to neuroinformatics software and data. "NITRC serves as a storehouse and storefront, a library, a workshop, and a laboratory for the functional and structural neuroimaging community."

Geared toward physics and astronomy teachers, students, researchers to provide educational resources. “Explore the collections” is the tab to use to find most content and searching capability.

A website within a website called CERN- or the European Org. for Nuclear Research. Search within this site or all of CERN. Left side of page is an FAQ on the LHC. Links to other sites, related links, downloadable documents, technical reports, reviews, studies, etc. Milestones provides a graphic time-line.