Psychology: Books & eBooks

Collection includes study guides, patient education, textbooks, the DSM, textbooks on: positive psychiatry, geriatrics, adolescents, managing PTSD patients and more.

Shows students how to critically read a research article from start to finish. Containing 25 engaging samples of ideal and flawed research, the text helps students assess the soundness of the design and appropriateness of the statistical analyses.

The DSM-5 is the standard reference for clinical practice in the mental health field. The current diagnostic criteria are the best available description of how mental disorders are expressed and can be recognized by trained clinicians. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings - inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care.

An indispensable resource for readers interested in eating disorders, this book summarizes their history in human civilization, assesses the current status of eating disorders in American society, and describes efforts for establishing effective prevention and treatment programs.

From leading experts in cognitive-behavioral therapy (CBT)--including CBT originator Aaron T. Beck and many who have worked closely with him--this book provides an overview of where the field is today and presents cutting-edge research and clinical applications.

Medical and Psychosocial Aspects of Chronic Illness, Sixth Edition is intended to teach students, counselors and other medical professionals working with the chronically ill and disabled how to better understand the manifestations of common chronic illnesses and the disabilities among their clients.

This handbook provides an in-depth, comprehensive overview of these key issues in the field of stress and mental health via chapters written by internationally acclaimed experts from an array of disciplines and scientific traditions, all of whom are concerned with understanding how stress impacts mental health

A comprehensive guide on how to diagnose, treat, and care for those with eating disorders. Eating disorders, which include such conditions as anorexia, bulimia, binge eating, and pica, represent a challenge to both patients and health care providers alike.

Now in a revised and expanded sixth edition, this is the leading text on evidence-based treatments for frequently encountered mental health problems. David H. Barlow has assembled preeminent experts to present their respective approaches in step-by-step detail, including extended case examples. Each chapter provides state-of-the-art information on the disorder at hand, explains the conceptual and empirical bases of intervention, and addresses the most pressing question asked by students and practitioners--"How do I do it?"

With twenty contributions by specialists in different fields, thie book promotes the combination of classical and psychological perspectives, and demonstrates the methods and rewards of such an endeavour through concrete case studies. This pioneering book is thus intended for all readers who seek inspiration for their readings, research, or therapeutic practice.

Psy-sciences (psychology, psychiatry, psychoanalysis, pedagogy, criminology, special education, etc.) have been connected to politics in different ways since the early twentieth century. Here in twenty-two essays scholars address a variety of these intersections from a historical perspective. The chapters include such diverse topics as the cultural history of psychoanalysis, the complicated relationship between psychoanalysis and the occult, and the struggles for dominance between the various schools of psychology.

This book provides an in depth survey of the field of Industrial and Organizational Psychology (I/O), a specialized field within the larger discipline of psychology also called Work and Organizational Psychology, Occupational Psychology, and Organizational Psychology.

"Provides a survey of topics covering the entire spectrum of psychology, including notable people, theories and terms; landmark case studies and experiments; applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports; and career information"--