Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Request books or articles from other libraries
If we don't have access to an article or book:
You can request an electronic copy of it (It's FREE!) from another library using Interlibrary Loan. This can usually take 1-2 days for articles or up to 1-2 weeks for books.
New Users can sign up or existing users sign in below:
Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)
Borrow from other libraries with our interlibrary loan system. *Articles & book chapters will be sent electronically and books will be available at the front desk unless you request to have them mailed to you.*
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Commentary on favorite books and plays by the scholars of the day from 2008-2014. Includes the following series: Contemporary Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Short Story criticism, and Twentieth Century Criticism. *See the physical reference shelf for the prior years.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Find biographical information, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, and around the world.
Project Muse - Standard Collection This link opens in a new window
A database of over 100 full text scholarly journals mainly within the past five years.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for nearly 3,970 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
A bibliography of articles, essays, books, dissertation abstracts, encyclopedia entries and reviews on the Middle Ages and the Renaissance.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A database of over 100 full text scholarly journal including some volumes dating back to the 19th century.
Scholarly v. Popular
Scholarly journals (aka academic journals) publish articles by experts in their field and are intended for the academic community. Many scholarly journals are also peer-reviewed (aka refereed), which means they have an editorial board read over all the articles to ensure even more credibility and authority. Example scholarly journals are American Journal of Archaeology and Journal of Abnormal Psychology. Some databases allow you to limit your results to Scholarly/Academic/Peer-Reviewed Journals (look for a check box on the database home page).
Popular journals are intended for the general public, and their journalists may not be experts in a field. Example popular journals are Scientific American and Psychology Today. Popular journals can be appropriate for some academic papers but not all, so be sure to check with your professor.