Get Started - HRS 119 - Intro to Health, Human & Rehab Services

Meet with a Librarian

Schedule an individual consultation with a research librarian through this link. A librarian is happy to help you at any point in the research process, from helping you develop a topic for your project, to finding information, to helping with citations. Zoom or in-person available.

New to this?

If you haven't done much library research before, consider looking through the Research Process guide for some help with the basics.

Human Services & Rehabilitation Studies

Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health - 3rd. ed.
2012. Provides detailed information on mental disorders and conditions. Also features entries for prescription, alternative and over-the-counter drugs, as well as the various therapies used to treat mental disorders.
Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health
2013. Alphabetically arranged encyclopedia contains approximately 257 entries pertaining to important public health concerns. Topics include diseases and conditions, health and wellness efforts, nutrition, ethics and law related topics and statistics, sanitation issues, and everyday environmental effects.

Print Reference Books

The list below is just a sample of the reference books available on topics related to the Human Services and Rehabilitation Studies field. You can search the Library's online catalog to find additional reference books on your topic.

Remember too, books are organized on the shelves by topic; so when you find one book on your topic, browse the shelves to find additional books related to your research topic.

SOURCEBOOK series
The Sourcebook series covers the causes, symptoms, and diagnosis of numerous conditions and diseases, the available therapies and interventions, and related conditions.

TO SEARCH FOR ANY BOOKS IN THE SERIES, use this link then click "Advanced Search" to add a keyword for your specific topic.
Human Diseases and Conditions by Neil Izenberg (Editor)
Call Number: RC81.A2 H752 2000
ISBN: 0684806436
A 3-volume encyclopedia that presents articles dealing with nearly 300 diseases and conditions. Includes bibliographical references and index.
Supplement 1 is all about behavioral health - addiction, autism, etc.
Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol and Addictive Behavior by Pamela Korsmeyer; Henry R. Kranzler
Call Number: HV5804 .E53 2009
ISBN: 0028660641
Publication Date: 2008
This three-volume set addresses the social, medical, legal, and political issues related to drugs and alcohol and associated behaviors.
Encyclopedia of Disability by Gary L. Albrecht (Editor)
Call Number: REF HV1568 .E528 2006
ISBN: 0761925651
Publication Date: 2005-10-07
BACKGROUND INFORMATION: A five-volume set that offers a multidisciplinary, multicultural look at a vast array of disability issues. Includes bibliographical references and index.

HRS 119 - Intro to Health, Human & Rehab Services: Get Started

Meet with a Librarian

New to this?

Human Services & Rehabilitation Studies

Print Reference Books