Library Home: PSY 650--Research Seminar (Stoner): Finding Books &amp; eBooks

eBooks

Below are two eBook collections available for the field of psychology:

Medical & Science eBook Collection from Gale Virtual Reference Collection
A collection of medical and science titles related to the field of psychology.

Psychology - Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Online books for download or print, by chapter or page. Complete Collection of Academic titles available for download to your computer, or reading device, or you can print by chapter or page (limit varies).

Print Books

Reference books can be a great place to start your research when you have a broad topic or a topic about which you know very little. They provide background on a topic, definitions of important terms, brief biographies of important people, chronology of important time periods/events, and more keywords for searching on the topic.

The list below is just a sample of the books available at the d'Alzon Library.

DSM-5 Clinical Cases by John W. Barnhill (Editor)
Call Number: REF RC473.D54 D76 2014
ISBN: 1585624632
Publication Date: 2014
Presents patient cases that exemplify the mental disorders categorized in the newly released DSM-5. Cases are cross-referenced with DSM-5 and help the reader understand diagnostic concepts, including symptoms, severity, comorbidities, age of onset and development, dimensionality across disorders, and gender and cultural implications.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by American Psychiatric Association Staff
Call Number: REF RC455.2.C4 D536 2000
Publication Date: 2013-05-22
The DSM-5 is the standard reference for clinical practice in the mental health field. The current diagnostic criteria are the best available description of how mental disorders are expressed and can be recognized by trained clinicians. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings - inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care.
Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health by Galè
Call Number: RC437 .G36 2008 (2nd ed. in Print)
ISBN: 9781414490120
Publication Date: 2012-05-25
We have 3rd edition Online, and 2nd edition in Print.
BACKGROUND INFORMATION: A two-volume encyclopedia that offers accessible information on mental health for consumers and students. The disorders covered are mostly recognized by the American Psychiatric Association, with entries for conditions and disorders usually including symptoms and demographics, key terms and resources for additional research.
SOURCEBOOK series
The Sourcebook series covers the causes, symptoms, and diagnosis of numerous conditions and diseases, the available therapies and interventions, and related conditions.

TO SEARCH FOR ANY BOOKS IN THE SERIES, use this link then click "Advanced Search" to add a keyword for your specific topic.

Search All

Finding Books

When searching the catalog for books on a topic, begin with a Keyword search in the Books Tab of the Search Bar on our homepage.

Your search terms should be fairly broad (example: autism and children). You may get a lot of results so use the left sidebar to limit these.

If your first search doesn't work, change your keywords and try again. You'll never get the perfect search on the first try (even librarians don't!). Try thinking of synonyms, narrower terms, broader terms, etc.

Once you find one or two good books, write down the call number. This tells you where it's located in the library. When you find the book on the shelf, take a look at the other books on the shelf. They may be helpful as well!

If a book you want is unavailable, you can request an Interlibrary Loan:

Find books and articles from other libraries.
You can borrow books and articles from other libraries FOR FREE. Use your Assumption email address and password to log in. The first time you log in, you will need to complete a User Registration form.