Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Data by Country
Association of Religion Data Archives - International
Examine the religious composition, religious freedoms, demographics, constitutional clauses, survey findings and multiple social and political measures for 250 nations.
Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union and serves to provide the European Union with statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions.
Global Health Observatory (GHO) Data
The country statistical pages bring together the main health data and statistics for each country.
International DataBase (IDB)
From the Census Bureau, this links to other government information on various topics related to population statistics.
International Labour Organization
Country profiles pages provide data on population and labor force participation, unemployment rates, youth employment rates, average monthly earnings, etc.
UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS) - the primary source for cross-nationally comparable statistics on education, science and technology, culture, and communication for more than 200 countries and territories
Military Stats International
An open source aggregator of international arms expenditures and information.
National Statistical Agencies of Other Countries
Links to national statistical agencies of other countries, gathered by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
(International) Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) has a large breadth of data and research.
UNdata contains more than 60 million records from various UN groups (UNESCO, UNHCR, Food and Agriculture Organization, World Health Organization). Users can use the keyword search, view country profiles, limit results to specific UN organizations, and explore popular topics (population, crime, health): Get worldwide info, e.g. internet use.
Unicef Statistics: Worldwide
Unicef is advocate for children and health, so topics here align: child mortality rates, nutrition, health, education, demographics, protection, disparities and much more. Can access their yearly publication: The State of the World’s Children.
World Bank Data
Awesome amount of data here. Can link back for EVEN MORE (!) international data to:
For even more statistics: You will find the information you need!
BBC- British Broadcasting Group
Very authoritative, good news source.
The Big Project: Worldwide News in English
A valuable resource that links to newspapers worldwide that publish editions in English.
Known as a highly respected source for current information and as a “think tank” for the US, has some demographics information worth noting. Enter “demographics” in the search box, as a good place to start.
National Public Radio (NPR)
NPR presents fact-based, independent journalism that examines and airs diverse perspectives.
Watch more than 200 documentaries online for free and find original reporting on international current events.
Pew Research Center
A "non-partisan fact-tank that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world." The center conducts public opinion polling, demographic studies, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. It does not take positions on policy issues.
The Rand Corporation
A nonprofit institution that conducts research and analysis on the important issues of the day, such as health, education, national security, international affairs, law and business, the environment, and more. Their goal is to improve policy and decisionmaking through unbiased research and analysis.
Today's Front Pages - Newseum
Links to the front pages of over 800 newspapers worldwide. Provided by the Newseum, a Washington, D.C. museum dedicated to news.
Lists over 15,600 newspapers and other news sources by country and by region within each country. There is a language code next to each newspaper and separate links to alternative language versions if they are available.
World Press - World Headlines & Newspapers
One of the web’s largest and most comprehensive directories of World Newspapers and Magazines, sorted by Country, region, and political affiliation.
Historical Newspapers Online
Chronicling America (Historic Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Google Newspaper Archives
Searchable newspapers back to the 19th century.
Go to the main page for GoogleBooks and perform a search. In the results screen, select "newspapers" from the tools dropdown.
Library of Congress- Collections with Newspapers
From the Library of Congress, organized by topic, features major events covered in historic newspapers.
An archive of old newspapers from US, Australia, and New Zealand
Newspapers at Boston Public Library (BPL)
You will need to register for an e-card. As an AU student you are eligible as a Massachusetts resident student to access much of the BPL content.