Databases - ENG 130 - Writing in the University (Ramsey) - Library Home at Assumption University

Databases for newspaper sources

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A general academic database with a majority of the articles in full text. Contains podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and the CBC, as well as full-text New York Times content 1985 to present.
Boston Globe This link opens in a new window
Coverage from 1980 to current, with full-text articles published from 1997 to current.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
This is coverage from 1980 to present.
U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1980 - current, and archives, to full-text content in major U.S. news outlets such as LA Times, Chicago Tribune, Wall Street Journal, Boston Globe, NY Times, and more.

Databases for peer-reviewed, scholarly sources

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A database of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines including some volumes dating back to the 19th century.
Project Muse - Standard Collection This link opens in a new window
A database of over 100 full text scholarly journals mainly within the past five years.

Databases with both types of sources

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for nearly 3,970 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more.
Proquest Central This link opens in a new window
Includes databases across all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion. The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports.
U.S. History In Context This link opens in a new window
Covers information on the most significant people, events, and topics in U.S. history. Contains magazine, journal and news articles, as well as primary source documents, images, videos, and audio files.

Advanced Search Tips

Use these search terms to narrow or broaden your search:

Term	Example	Result
AND	media AND bias	Narrows the search to entries containing both terms.
OR	beer OR wine	Broadens the search to entries containing either term.
NOT	bats NOT baseball	Excludes entries containing the second term.
“ ”	“social work”	Retrieves results containing the exact phrase in quotes.
?	globali?ation	Wildcard: Retrieves both globalization and globalisation.
*	rehab*	Truncation: Retrieves rehab, rehabilitate, rehabilitation.

Scholarly vs. Popular Sources

	Peer-Reviewed (Scholarly) Source	Popular Source
Author	Experts/Scholars/Affiliated Researchers	Journalist/Reporter/Writer
Audience	Experts/Scholars/Affiliated Researchers	General Public
Pictures	Graphs, Charts	Colorful, Photographs, Decorative
Language	Complex, Advanced Terms	Easy to Follow
Article Length	10+ Pages	1-5 Pages
Article Titles	Long & Descriptive	Short & Catchy
Citations	Many	None
Abstract	Yes	No

Test Yourself: What type of source is this?

Source A

Source B

Finding a Full-Text Journal Article

Some of our databases provide full-text articles (indicated by a PDF or HTML link after the citation). Others only show you the titles of articles. For these, click Article Linker to find out whether we own the journal in print and/or online.

If we do not have access to the article you need, you can request it (free of charge). After logging into your InterLibrary Loan account, the system will automatically fill out the necessary information - you just need to hit Submit Request at the bottom of the page!

New Users to the InterLibrary Loan service, may set up an InterLibrary Loan account here:

Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)
Borrow from other libraries with our interlibrary loan system. *Articles & book chapters will be sent electronically and books will be available at the front desk unless you request to have them mailed to you.*

How to use the Article Linker Icon

If you've got a citation

If you already have a citation, the title of journal, it's ISSN, or would prefer to browse journals by a particular subject, follow the steps below:

Click on the Journals tab from the library search bar
Choose from the following options in the drop-down menu to the left of the search box: Title begins with, title equals, title contains all words, or ISSN equals.
Enter all or part of the journal title and then select the SEARCH button. Make sure that you are entering the title of the journal, not the title of the article itself.
Locate the correct title from the results list.
Select the title with the dates that you need and choose the database name next to your preferred dates.
You will be redirected to another screen where you can search for your article.
If the journal or date you want is not available, order the article through interlibrary loan using the link below.

Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)
Borrow from other libraries with our interlibrary loan system. *Articles & book chapters will be sent electronically and books will be available at the front desk unless you request to have them mailed to you.*

ENG 130 - Writing in the University (Ramsey): Databases