Library Home: Honors 300: Statistics

Demographic Data

American Factfinder
Part of the US Census Bureau site, but can narrow down trends to a specific community (your town).

eurostat
Data from the statistical office of the European Union.
FedStats
Provides statistics from over 100 government agencies. Options for searching are to use: the Topics A-Z for a listing of topics, sort by geographical area, sort by eBooks, or by the specific agency.
International DataBase (IDB)
From the Census Bureau, this links to other government information on various topics related to population statistics.
Kids Count
Demographic info. on children
Poverty in the US
Explore recent poverty data provided by the US Census Bureau
UN Data
UNdata contains more than 60 million records from various UN groups (UNESCO, UNHCR, Food and Agriculture Organization, World Health Organization). Users can use the keyword search, view country profiles, limit results to specific UN organizations, and explore popular topics (population, crime, health): Get worldwide info, e.g. internet use.
US Census Bureau
Information on people, households, economic indicators, foreign trade, education, religion, and other specifics.
World Bank Data
Awesome amount of data here. Can link back for EVEN MORE (!) international data to:
http://wdronline.worldbank.org

Government Statistical Sites

Government statistical sites can apply to many different academic disciplines.

American Factfinder
Part of the US Census Bureau site, but can narrow down trends to a specific community (your town).
Bureau of Labor Statistics Sites on the Web
Provides links to the main U.S. Federal Statistical Agencies, state labor market statistics, and National Statistical Agencies for other countries
ChildStats
Federal agency statistics on children and families in the US.
Disability Statistics
The purpose of the Disability Statistics Center is to produce and disseminate statistical information on disability and the status of people with disabilities in American society and to establish and monitor indicators about how conditions are changing over time to meet their health, housing, economic and social needs.
FedStats
Provides statistics from over 100 government agencies. Options for searching are to use: the Topics A-Z for a listing of topics, sort by geographical area, sort by eBooks, or by the specific agency.
International DataBase (IDB)
From the Census Bureau, this links to other government information on various topics related to population statistics.
International Stats
UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS) - the primary source for cross-nationally comparable statistics on education, science and technology, culture, and communication for more than 200 countries and territories
National Accounts Main Aggregates Database
Analytical national accounts tables from 1970 onwards for more than 200 countries and areas of the world- Go to "data availability" then "snapshot."

more... less...

Data from the United Nations Statistics Division and the individual country's international statistical agencies. Data presented in both the country's $ and ours.
National Center for Education Statistics
Elementary, secondary, higher-ed, adult, and continuing are all covered. Extensive information here on education data.
UN Data
UNdata contains more than 60 million records from various UN groups (UNESCO, UNHCR, Food and Agriculture Organization, World Health Organization). Users can use the keyword search, view country profiles, limit results to specific UN organizations, and explore popular topics (population, crime, health): Get worldwide info, e.g. internet use.
US Census Bureau
Information on people, households, economic indicators, foreign trade, education, religion, and other specifics.
World Fact Book
From the CIA, information on all countries.
World Health Organization
Use the search box and connect terms with "AND" or "OR". Results listed are articles and surveys including statistical information on the topic you searched. Example search: depression AND Nicaragua. This resulted in 745 related articles. Click on any one of them to retrieve your article.

Health Statistics

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Information before 2025 is archived. Use the A-Z list- for searching.

Local and State Statistical Sites

Mass.gov
On the left-most sidebar, go to "cities and towns" and select your town of interest. Listing of all resources (government) of access in the town.
Centers for Disease Control & Prevention
has exactly what you'd expect: data of health concern for MA
States Perform
Can compare states, according to customizations set by the user. Can download results to excel files. Dates range from 2002-2012.
Kaiser Family Foundation
Also provides Health stats for MA.
Diversity Data
From Harvard University, this site's focus is "describing over 100 measures of diversity, opportunity, and quality of life for 362 metropolitan areas."
Mass Benchmarks
Click on the map to get some of the available data.

Public Opinion Stats

Gallup Poll: Great reputation as a nonpartisan poll/survey examiner for news "based on US and world polls, daily tracking and public opinion research." Use the resources pull down, and go to topics A-Z, or just enter your basic terms in the search box.

Pew Institute: A nonpartisan site that uses polls/surveys to examine current issues and trends affecting America and the world. Use the search box to look for a specific item, or the topic index (tab at the top) or search by general overview. Scroll down in each issue, as there are several survey questions shown for each.

Books for Statistics

Historical statistics of the United States, colonial times to 1970 by U.S. Census Bureau
Call Number: HA202 .H57 1989

ISBN: 0525917567

Publication Date: 1989

Provides statistics on American social, political, and economic development from 1610 to 1970.