Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Fact Checking Websites
These sites are non-partisan, and great for quick-checking claims on any "news" media.
"The definitive Internet reference source for urban legends, folklore, myths, rumors, and misinformation."- website
"We are a nonpartisan, nonprofit “consumer advocate” for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics. " - website
A division of FactCheck wholly dedicated to Scientific claims.
PolitiFact is owned by the nonprofit Poynter Institute for Media Studies. Non-partisan.
Health News Review
As of 2018 stopped current checks, but has great information on ongoing critical evaluation of health information.
A general academic database with a majority of the articles in full text. Contains podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and the CBC, as well as full-text New York Times content 1985 to present.
Academic Search Premier
Provides full text for nearly 3,970 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more.
Academic Video Online (AVON)
67,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Includes: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, demonstrations, original and raw footage, award-winning films, Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners.
Global Issues In Context
Focuses on broad issues, such as war, genocide, terrorism, human rights, poverty, famine, globalization, world trade, nuclear proliferation, and global warming, as well as more specific events and topics that are related to these broader issues.
Covers timely issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, political science, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
News from all angles
Identifies bias in popular media and presents multiple accounts of a single story to provide readers with a more complete picture.
This site looks at controversial topics from many different angles.
National Public Radio (NPR)
NPR presents fact-based, independent journalism that examines and airs diverse perspectives.
BBC- British Broadcasting Group
Very authoritative, good news source.
Known as a highly respected source for current information and as a “think tank” for the US, has some demographics information worth noting. Enter “demographics” in the search box, as a good place to start.
The Rand Corporation
A nonprofit institution that conducts research and analysis on the important issues of the day, such as health, education, national security, international affairs, law and business, the environment, and more. Their goal is to improve policy and decisionmaking through unbiased research and analysis.