Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research Process Guide
Not sure where to start? Use this Research Process guide to learn more about the different steps of the research process.
Online Databases for Articles
Journals, or magazines, can be a good source for current information on a topic or issue. They are often the best source for opinions, research studies, current debates and current practices related to a topic or issue.
A database of over 100 full text scholarly journal including some volumes dating back to the 19th century.
Project Muse - Standard Collection
A database of over 100 full text scholarly journals mainly within the past five years.
Google Scholar allows you to cross search scholarly literature across many disciplines.
Academic Search Premier
Provides full text for nearly 3,970 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more.
Atla Religion Database (ARB)
American Theological Library Assoc. literature on religion from 650 journals and other sources- this is mostly an index and has very little full text.
Paraphrasing & Citation Help
Paraphrasing is stating something in your own words to convey the same meaning.
There are steps to paraphrasing:
- Understand the text- highlight and re-read to fully understand.
- Pull out key points of the text.
- Put the source away and rephrase in your own words.
- Check your words against the original source. If there are exact phrases that you rewrote, put quotes around it.
- Cite it, using a signal phrase or in-text citation or footnote.
See our Citations Guides for help formatting your citations properly: