Library Home: SCP 600: Family counseling, collaboration, & engagement: Grief & Loss

eBooks

Grief Therapies
Loss

Grief Counseling and Grief Therapy by J. William Worden
ISBN: 9780826134745
Publication Date: 2018-05-01
Contents: Attachment, loss, and the experience of grief -- Understanding the mourning process -- The mourning process: mediators of mourning -- Grief counseling: facilitating uncomplicated grief -- Abnormal grief reactions: complicated mourning -- Grief therapy: resolving complicated mourning -- Grieving special types of losses -- Grief and family systems -- The counselor's own grief -- Training for grief counseling.
Grief and Loss Across the Lifespan by Carolyn Ambler Walter; Judith L. M. McCoyd
ISBN: 9780826120281
Publication Date: 2015-08-01
The book addresses grieving patterns and intervention strategies according to the life trajectory and provides clinical intervention tools and strategies for coping according to the developmental stage of an individual. It incorporates losses beyond death loss, with special focus on losses related to maturational development, areas of continued bonds, disenfranchised grief, and ambiguous grief. It describes how grieving is influenced by biological responses to stress, psychological responses to loss, and social norms and support networks. The second edition includes significant new information on trauma and resilience and addresses the use of mindfulness practices with grief and loss. It focuses on the changing role of technology including expressions of grief and loss in social media and public forums.
Principles and Practice of Grief Counseling by Howard Robin Winokuer; Darcy Harris
ISBN: 9780826171832
Publication Date: 2015-07-01
This core, introductory textbook for undergraduate and graduate-level courses is the first to combine the knowledge and skills of counseling psychology with current theory and research in grief and bereavement. The second edition has been updated to reflect important new research and changes in the field, including insights on complicated grief, resilience after adverse life experiences, and compassion-based approaches to death, loss, and grief. It discusses the implications of the DSM-5's omission of the bereavement exclusion for the diagnosis of a major depressive disorder.

Responding to Loss and Bereavement in Schools by John Holland
ISBN: 9781849056922
Publication Date: 2016-02-21
This practical resource provides everything you need to enable your school to provide the best possible support for pupils and staff who have suffered a loss or bereavement. The book includes a school 'audit' to allow full assessment and evaluation of your school's current bereavement provision, and a full set of photocopiable training exercises for in-school staff bereavement training. It considers the important and unique role the school can play in supporting bereaved pupils and staff, and provides valuable guidance on how to create a school bereavement policy. A unique and accessible resource that is applicable to all levels of schooling, the book will be a valuable addition to the shelves of pastoral care teams, school counsellors, head teachers and school management, other school staff, bereavement counsellors and trainers, as well as psychologists.
The Miscarriage Map Workbook by Sunita Osborn
ISBN: 9781683733553
Publication Date: 2021-03-23
Dr. Osborn offers a straightforward roadmap to help women move through the trauma and grief of pregnancy loss, allowing them to feel deeply understood, better equipped to handle life stressors, and more empowered to move forward in life. With both her clinical expertise and personal experience in mind, this workbook is filled with practical, engaging, and meaningful tools and insight that will allow readers to: - Develop coping skills for pregnancy loss and the intense emotions that accompany miscarriages.

Related Websites

Coalition to Support Grieving Students
This Coalition support professional practioners in the field with free information, handouts, reference materials, and video training modules from experts and bereaved children and families.
The Compassionate Friends
This UK based non-profit is a peer-support group for parents that have lost a child. Their website also includes resources.
The Dougy Center
The Dougy Center provides resources and training, on local and national level, to assist children experiencing grief.
Grief.com
This website from David Kessler, an expert author on grief and loss, provides many resources and support networks for different types of personal loss (i.e. loss of a parent among others).
Grief in Common
Founded by Karyn Arnold, a practitioner in the field of grief and loss, provides support networks, live chat, and resources.
Pet Loss
This article from University of California's School of Veterinary Medicine magazine provides practical tools to help children navigate pet loss.
What's Your Grief
A website created by mental health professionals that provides educational resources on grief.

Video

Grief, Loss & Bereavement In Hispanic Clients: Culturally-Informed Tools & Strategies To Promote Healing & Hope After Loss
From Alexander Street (video database): In this recording, Ligia M. Houben, MA, FT, FAAGC, CPC, author of Counseling Hispanics Through Loss, Grief, and Bereavement: A Guide for Mental Health Professionals, will share valuable information on how to help Hispanic people heal after loss.
Loss In the Time of Coronavirus: Coping with Grief by Froma Walsh, PhD
In this YouTube, Dr. Froma Walsh, author of Strengthening Family Resilience: Third Edition, and Complex and Traumatic Loss, discusses the many different kinds of losses that are being suffered during the coronavirus pandemic, and shares helpful strategies for responding in ways that promote healing and adaptation.
We don't "move on" from grief. We move forward with it
In this TED Talk, Nora McInerny discusses a unique perspective to shift how to process grief.