General Business: Websites

A list of the best sources from the American Library Association - Extensive!

A-Z listing of definitions.

Accounting periods and methods defined and explained- This site is great for exploring other business related topics- just ignore the tax info. if it's not relevant, and read the generalities.

Title 26 of the United States Code, is the IRC or Internal Revenue Code. Sections expand, to give more detail on nearly ALL federal tax laws.

The SEC and AICPA follow the rules outlined here. Good recent news information. The Accounting Standards Codification is here (basic=free).

Under "Standards & Guidance" the basic (free) codification is here.

To support and develop a set of globally accepted standards in accounting. (You'll also see IFRS on the site)

(The Yellow Book), 2010 e-copy available by PDF here.

Overview of issues to become a CPA.

Part of the US Census Bureau site, but can narrow down trends to a specific community (your town).

According to the US Bureau of Labor Statistics which hosts this site, “The American Time Use Survey (ATUS) measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing.”

Provides information to the government and the public regarding regional, national, international, and industry economic data.

Provides links to the main U.S. Federal Statistical Agencies, state labor market statistics, and National Statistical Agencies for other countries

Provides information regarding American consumer spending over the past 10 years.

Published by the US International Trade Administration, this site covers all trade of US and other countries. Provides searchability by industry, legal considerations, market research, and data reports in addition to providing a search box.

Bulletins from the FMS- Federal Management Service, a part of the Treasury Dept. They do the payments and collections, and daily cash flow of $89 billion of the governments money.

Known as a highly respected source for current information and as a “think tank” for the US, has some demographics information worth noting. Enter “demographics” in the search box, as a good place to start.

A reputable source for great information on “numbers, facts, and trends.” Can search your topic or use the topic index. Very comprehensive and easily navigated site.

No really! We recommend this site for stock updates, ratios, graphs, tracking a company financially is easy and visual here.

UNdata contains more than 60 million records from various UN groups (UNESCO, UNHCR, Food and Agriculture Organization, World Health Organization). Users can use the keyword search, view country profiles, limit results to specific UN organizations, and explore popular topics (population, crime, health): Get worldwide info, e.g. internet use.

The World Bank provides financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world. Provides numerous analyses, statistics and news on all business, cultural, economic, environmental, social, and political global issues.

Compares business regulations across the world; Has rankings, statistics, reports, and provides tools for comparison. Published by World Bank, a reputable source.

To support and develop a set of globally accepted standards in accounting. (You'll also see IFRS on the site)

A directory for international business information.

Provides links to the main U.S. Federal Statistical Agencies, state labor market statistics, and National Statistical Agencies for other countries

Choose a world region, then a country. Each country page includes current news, journal articles, reference book articles, statistics, quick facts and a detailed Country Profile (the link is under the "Quick Facts").

Shows tons of general data for a given city- not complete, however can search by state below and then choose from a listing to expand and find out what data they do have.

Compares business regulations across the world; Has rankings, statistics, reports, and provides tools for comparison. Published by World Bank, a reputable source.

Has lots of information on trends and things to look out for in marketing. The research tab leads to a quick briefs link.

Large association for grocery industry. Shows what trends exist in food and beverage products.

According to the site, their focus is “Reproductive Health and Fertility; Children and Families; Population and the Environment; and Population Futures—Aging, Inequality and Poverty, Migration and Urbanization, and Gender.” They provide ample information relevant to these topics.

Measures the site usage for many websites. A personal website won’t work, but a business, such as Assumption.edu, has a full breakdown. Interesting usage information.