Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

View All Library Hours


Assumption University Home | Portal (My.Assumption)

Art, Music and Theatre: Find Articles

Request Books and Articles From Other Libraries

If we don't own a particular book or journal article, we can order it for you through Interlibrary Loan.

Books
Books can take up to 2 weeks to arrive at our library, so be sure to do your research early.

Articles
Journal articles tend to arrive quicker, usually in 1-3 business days.

Some of our databases provide full-text articles (indicated by a PDF or HTML link after the citation).  Others only show you the titles of articles.  For these, click Article Linker to find out whether we own the journal in print and/or online.  Note the year of the journal article and make sure we own the year you need!

You may set up your Interlibrary Loan account here:

If you've got a citation...

If you've already got a citation (article title, journal title, volume, issue, publication date, page number(s)), follow these steps to locate the full text of your article:

1. Click on the Journal Titles tab from the library search bar.

2.  Enter the title of the journal and then click the SEARCH button. Make sure that you are searching with the title of the journal, not the title of the article itself.

3. Locate the correct title from the results list.

4. Click the title to check if the library has the dates you need.

4. Click Access Journal to link to the article you are looking for.

5. If the journal or date you need is not available, Order the article from our interlibrary loan module:

Find Art, Music & Theatre Articles in Databases

Scholarly v. Popular

Scholarly journals (aka academic journals) publish articles by experts in their field and are intended for the academic community.  Many scholarly journals are also peer-reviewed (aka refereed), which means they have an editorial board read over all the articles to ensure even more credibility and authority.  Example scholarly journals are American Journal of Archaeology and Journal of Abnormal Psychology.  Some databases allow you to limit your results to Scholarly/Academic/Peer-Reviewed Journals (look for a check box on the database home page).

Popular journals are intended for the general public, and their journalists may not be experts in a field.  Example popular journals are Scientific American and Psychology Today.  Popular journals can be appropriate for some academic papers but not all, so be sure to check with your professor.

For more on searching databases, see the Journal Articles (Database) tab.