Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Request Books and Articles From Other Libraries
If we don't own a particular book or journal article, we can order it for you through Interlibrary Loan.
Books can take up to 2 weeks to arrive at our library, so be sure to do your research early.
Journal articles tend to arrive quicker, usually in 1-3 business days.
Some of our databases provide full-text articles (indicated by a PDF or HTML link after the citation). Others only show you the titles of articles. For these, click Article Linker to find out whether we own the journal in print and/or online. Note the year of the journal article and make sure we own the year you need!
You may set up your Interlibrary Loan account here:
Interlibrary Loans: ILLiad
Borrow from other libraries with our interlibrary loan system. *Articles & book chapters will be sent electronically and books will be available at the front desk unless you request to have them mailed to you.*
Find MCLC Articles in Databases
The go-to source for journal articles on philosophy, including ancient Greece. Remember to use limits (e.g., English language and Journal Article for document type) to retrieve relevant results. You must log out of the database (click “Assumption College - Logout” link at the top right corner of the screen) when you are finished searching! If you only close the browser window, you will cut off access to yourself and everyone else on campus for 15 minutes.
A database of over 100 full text scholarly journal including some volumes dating back to the 19th century.
Project Muse - Standard Collection
General database for journal articles in the humanities. Click Article Search (top left corner of the screen) to search for articles and remember to use limits (e.g., “Articles Only”) to retrieve relevant results.
Academic Search Premier
General database for journal articles, not specific to any discipline. Remember to use limits (e.g., English language and Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed Journals) to retrieve relevant results.
Monumenta Germaniae Historica
Comprehensive series of carefully edited and published primary sources, both chronicle and archival, for the study of German history (broadly conceived) from the end of the Roman Empire to 1500.
(Only three people can use this database at the same time. Please click 'Log-Out' at the top of the screen when finished.)