Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Basic Website Evaluation
Make sure you evaluate. To begin with, use the 5W’s method: Who, What, Where, When, Why?
Who wrote the pages and are they an expert in the field? Authority
What is the purpose of the site? Objectivity – Goals of the Authors
Where does the information come from? Accuracy - Reliability
When was the site created, updated, or last worked on? Currency
Why is the information valuable? Coverage – value of the content
Look at the URL: What does the URL (Web address) say about the producer of the web site, and its purpose? Is it: .net?, .org? or .gov?
Latin American Online Resources
Latindex Scientific Search
It includes scientific, technical-professional and scientific and cultural research journals that are published in Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal. In English or Spanish or Portuguese.
A Search Engine for Latin American Open Access journal articles in the science and technology sectors. In English or Spanish.
A Scientific library of open access books and chapters in Latin American presses and countries. In English or Spanish.
A search engine for Latin American journal articles in Spanish (not available to translate to English) for the social sciences as well as biological sciences. Open access availablility.
The Handbook of Latin American Studies is a *bibliography* on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. You can get the citation and request via ILL. In English or Spanish or Portuguese.
HLAS list of Websites
A full list of bibliographic resources/digital collections available all over the web for Latin American study.
Latin American Open Archives Portal (LAOAP)
Working documents, pre-prints, research papers, statistical documents, and other difficult-to-access materials from the "deep Web." Typically, this content is published by research institutes, non-governmental organizations, and peripheral agencies that are not controlled by commercial publishers. In English & Spanish.
Find just the right word or phrase in French, English, Portuguese or Spanish by using this large linguistic databank.
Foreign Language News and Newspapers
Portal to sites of foreign-language news (Chinese, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish).
Newspaper Map Project
(Europa Technologies, powered by Google)
Search for a newspaper anywhere in the world by title or place name, or navigate the map to see the concentration of newspapers around the globe according to language.
(Library of Congress)
Portal to many, many web resources on various countries and regions around the globe. Includes links to digital libraries, digital collections, research guides for country studies, and LoC presentations and exhibitions.
Professor Juan Carlos Grijalva’s Homepage
Includes resources on Latin American culture and literature.
(Brigham Young University Libraries)
Using the same technology as Wikipedia, the Brigham Young University Library has compiled an extensive bibliography of primary and secondary sources from throughout Europe.
Resources to help you learn Spanish, French, Italian, German, Russian, Japanese, and Chinese.
Extensive digital library of full-text books, plays, stories, and essays.
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
Maps produced by CIA - (held by University of Texas at Austin)
A collection of fascinating maps, including city, country, political, land, and population.