Library Home: American History: Finding Journal/Newspaper Articles

Find American History Articles

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A database of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines including some volumes dating back to the 19th century.
Project Muse - Standard Collection This link opens in a new window
A database of over 100 full text scholarly journals mainly within the past five years.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for nearly 3,970 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more.
U.S. History In Context This link opens in a new window
Covers information on the most significant people, events, and topics in U.S. history. Contains magazine, journal and news articles, as well as primary source documents, images, videos, and audio files.

If you've got a citation

If you already have a citation, the title of journal, it's ISSN, or would prefer to browse journals by a particular subject, follow the steps below:

Click on the Journals tab from the library search bar
Choose from the following options in the drop-down menu to the left of the search box: Title begins with, title equals, title contains all words, or ISSN equals.
Enter all or part of the journal title and then select the SEARCH button. Make sure that you are entering the title of the journal, not the title of the article itself.
Locate the correct title from the results list.
Select the title with the dates that you need and choose the database name next to your preferred dates.
You will be redirected to another screen where you can search for your article.
If the journal or date you want is not available, order the article through interlibrary loan using the link below.

Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)
Borrow from other libraries with our interlibrary loan system. *Articles & book chapters will be sent electronically and books will be available at the front desk unless you request to have them mailed to you.*

Primary Sources in US History

Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
Diverse primary source materials of 18th and 19th century American history and culture, assembled into comprehensive database collections ranging from African American Newspapers, the Civil War Collection, Reconstruction pamphlets of Southern US, Scenes in the life of Harriet Tubman, Woman's Suffrage Collection, and many more.
Foundation Collection - Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Browse a broad collection of historical primary source materials, from newspapers, books, manuscripts, and archives. Includes Black, Jewish, regional newspapers, military history, Native American documents, US Government documents, and so much more.
Early American Newspapers, Series I, 1690-1876 This link opens in a new window
Offers more than 700 historical American newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia printed between 1690 and 1876.
Chronicling America (Historic Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

Newspaper Pictorials
During the World War I era (1914-18), leading newspapers took advantage of a new printing process that dramatically altered their ability to reproduce images. Rotogravure printing, which produced richly detailed, high quality illustrations—even on inexpensive newsprint paper—was used to create vivid new pictorial sections..Here are many from this interesting time.

Scholarly vs Popular Articles

This is a short graphic presentation of the differences between scholarly and popular articles, why you should use scholarly articles, and where you can find them. It displays best in the Mozilla Firefox browser and doesn't load properly in Chrome. Click on the full screen option to see the most detail.

Finding a Full-Text Journal Article

Some of our databases provide full-text articles (indicated by a PDF or HTML link after the citation). Others only show you the titles of articles. For these, click Article Linker to find out whether we own the journal in print and/or online.

If we do not have access to the article you need, you can request it (free of charge). After logging into your InterLibrary Loan account, the system will automatically fill out the necessary information - you just need to hit Submit Request at the bottom of the page!

New Users to the InterLibrary Loan service, may set up an InterLibrary Loan account here:

Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)
Borrow from other libraries with our interlibrary loan system. *Articles & book chapters will be sent electronically and books will be available at the front desk unless you request to have them mailed to you.*