Finding Journal Articles - RCP 502 - Rehabilitation Counseling Research & Program Evaluation

Finding a Full-Text Journal Article

Some of our databases provide full-text articles (indicated by a PDF or HTML link after the citation). Others only show you the titles of articles. For these, click Article Linker to find out whether we own the journal in print and/or online.

If we do not have access to the article you need, you can request it (free of charge). After logging into your InterLibrary Loan account, the system will automatically fill out the necessary information - you just need to hit Submit Request at the bottom of the page!

New Users to the InterLibrary Loan service, may set up an InterLibrary Loan account here:

Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)
Borrow from other libraries with our interlibrary loan system. *Articles & book chapters will be sent electronically and books will be available at the front desk unless you request to have them mailed to you.*

If you've got a citation

If you already have a citation, the title of journal, it's ISSN, or would prefer to browse journals by a particular subject, follow the steps below:

Click on the Journals tab from the library search bar
Choose from the following options in the drop-down menu to the left of the search box: Title begins with, title equals, title contains all words, or ISSN equals.
Enter all or part of the journal title and then select the SEARCH button. Make sure that you are entering the title of the journal, not the title of the article itself.
Locate the correct title from the results list.
Select the title with the dates that you need and choose the database name next to your preferred dates.
You will be redirected to another screen where you can search for your article.
If the journal or date you want is not available, order the article through interlibrary loan using the link below.

Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)
Borrow from other libraries with our interlibrary loan system. *Articles & book chapters will be sent electronically and books will be available at the front desk unless you request to have them mailed to you.*

Online Databases for Journal Articles

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for nearly 3,970 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more.
ScienceDirect Health & Life Sciences College Edition This link opens in a new window
A leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
A database of citations and abstracts from nearly 1,000 educational journals plus full text of educational documents and papers.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to articles in the field of medicine.
PsycInfo (APA) 1887-Current This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive international coverage of scholarly literature in psychology. Includes articles from more than 1300 periodicals in over 25 languages.
DSM Library This link opens in a new window
Online access to DSM-5, DSM-5-TR, DSM-5 Clinical Cases, DSM-5 Handbooks of Differential Diagnosis, and more. The DSM (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders) is the handbook used much of the world as the authoritative guide to the diagnosis of mental disorders. DSM contains descriptions, symptoms and other criteria for diagnosing mental disorders.
Supports areas of neuroscience, psychiatry, mental health and behavioral science.
Health & Wellness Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Provides medical, and health information from reference material, full-text magazines, journals, and multimedia content. Also provides links to pertinent health and medical websites.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar allows you to cross search scholarly literature across many disciplines.

Advanced Search Tips

Use these search terms to narrow or broaden your search:

Term	Example	Result
AND	media AND bias	Narrows the search to entries containing both terms.
OR	beer OR wine	Broadens the search to entries containing either term.
NOT	bats NOT baseball	Excludes entries containing the second term.
“ ”	“social work”	Retrieves results containing the exact phrase in quotes.
?	globali?ation	Wildcard: Retrieves both globalization and globalisation.
*	rehab*	Truncation: Retrieves rehab, rehabilitate, rehabilitation.

Get Help

d'Alzon Library

Email Me

Contact:

Main Desk: 508-767-7135
Research Help: 508-767-7273
Library FAQ's Answers to the Library's most frequently asked questions.

Off Campus Access

You can search all our databases from off campus! When selecting a database from the Library website, you’ll be prompted to enter your Assumption University email login name and password.