Library Home: Open Educational Resources (OERs): OER Content/Courses

OER

Image licenced by opensourceway

OER repositories are community portals that allow educators to share content. Some repositories include peer-review and rating systems. Open courses (or open courseware) are usually part of university initiatives to make full course content freely available to the public, but without access to faculty or certification of course completion. Like other OER, open course content can be adopted and adapted by educators.

Open lessons and courses

Open Yale Courses
"Open Yale Courses provides free and open access to a selection of introductory courses taught by distinguished teachers and scholars at Yale University. The aim of the project is to expand access to educational materials for all who wish to learn."
MIT OpenCourseWare
"MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity."
Open Course Library
"A collection of high quality, free-to-use courses that you can download and use for teaching. All content is stored in Google docs making it easy to access, browse and download."
University of Oxford Podcasts
Oxford University provides open podcasts under a Creative Commons license for reuse in education worldwide. Podcast collections include faculty lectures and guest talks on subjects ranging from Shakespeare to Bioethics.

OER collections and repositories

MERLOT
"MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community."
OER Commons
"We are a dynamic digital content hub offering a suite of OER supports. From roadmaps to training to tools, we'll get the right OER to your students."
B.C. Open Collection
Use and adapt lesson plans, course syllabi, assessments, rubrics, and more.
HippoCampus
"Free educational resources for middle school to college."
HEAL Collection
A national repository of free, web-based multimedia teaching materials in the health sciences. The collection is comprised of images, animations, videos and audio-files.