Library Home: Fact Checking & Knowing Your News: Learn More

Books on the topic

Web Literacy for Student Fact Checkers, by Mike Caulfield
Web Literacy for Student Fact-Checkers by Michael A. Caulfield is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License, except where otherwise noted.

Blur by Bill Kovach; Tom Rosenstiel
Call Number: PN4815.2 .K68 2010
ISBN: 1608193012
Publication Date: 2011-09-06
Amid the hand-wringing over the death of "true journalism" in the Internet Age-the din of bloggers, the echo chamber of Twitter, the predominance of Wikipedia-veteran journalists and media critics Bill Kovach and Tom Rosenstiel have written a pragmatic guide to navigating the twenty-first century media terrain. Yes, old authorities are being dismantled, new ones created, and the very nature of knowledge has changed. But seeking the truth remains the purpose of journalism. How do we discern what is reliable?Blur provides a road map, or more specifically, reveals the craft that has been used in newsrooms by the very best journalists for getting at the truth. In an age when the line between citizen and journalist is becoming increasingly unclear,Blur is a crucial guide for those who want to know what's true.

SIFT
The canonical version of this course exists at http://lessons.checkplease.cc. The text and media of this site, where possible, is released into the public domain, and free for reuse and revision. We ask people copying this course to leave this note intact, so that students and teachers can find their way back to the original (periodically updated) version if necessary.

Articles about fake news and media literacy can be found in these library databases:

Social Sciences- Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
PsycInfo (APA) 1887-Current This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive international coverage of scholarly literature in psychology. Includes articles from more than 1300 periodicals in over 25 languages.
Psychology - Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Online books for download or print, by chapter or page. Complete Collection of Academic titles available for download to your computer, or reading device, or you can print by chapter or page (limit varies).
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar allows you to cross search scholarly literature across many disciplines.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
A database of citations and abstracts from nearly 1,000 educational journals plus full text of educational documents and papers.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for nearly 3,970 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more.

Digital Polarization Initiative (DigiPo)
DigiPo is spearheaded by the American Democracy Project's (ADP) inaugural Civic Fellow Mike Caulfield of Washington State University Vancouver: effort to build student civic, information and web literacy by having students participate in a broad, cross-institutional project to fact-check, annotate, and provide context to the different news stories that show up in our Twitter and Facebook feeds
Stanford History Education Group (SHEG) Study
29 pages, 2016, Studied "the ability to judge the credibility of information that floods young people's smartphones, tablets, and computers."
MediaWise
From Poynter, a digital literacy project and initiative.