Library Home: Human Services and Rehabilitation Studies: Health Care

Recommended Books

Health Policy Issues: An Economic Perspective by Paul Feldstein
Publication Date: 2019
Integrating Health Care and Social Services for People with Serious Illness by National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
Publication Date: 2019
Unequal Coverage: The Experience of Health Care Reform in the United States by Heide Castañeda; Jessica M. Mulligan
Publication Date: 2018

Recommended Websites

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) Data
Find data and infographics on health care trends, including health care quality, costs, and more, provided by the U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services.
Centers for Disease Control: Data & Statistics
Find national and county level data on a variety of health and disease topics.
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
Find research, data, and statistics on topics such as drug spending, program rates, chronic conditions, and more.
Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care
Documents variations in how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States. The project uses Medicare and Medicaid data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians.
Health Resources & Services Administration (HRSA) Stats
Provides maps, data, reports, and dashboards about HRSA’s grants, loan and scholarship programs, health centers, and other public health programs and services.
Kaiser Family Foundation
A nonprofit organization focusing on national health issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy. Find nonpartisan information, analysis and journalism geared towards policymakers, the media, the health policy community and the public.
National Center for Health Statistics
Find current reports on health statistics, including rates of health conditions, utilization of health resources, and health care expenditures by geography, ethnicity, age, and more.
National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Reports
Presents, in chart form, the latest available findings on quality of and access to healthcare, as well as disparities related to race and ethnicity, income, and other social determinants of health.

Find more examples of health care resources here:

https://library.assumption.edu/healthadvocacy

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for nearly 3,970 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more.
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full text for the top nursing and allied health literature available and covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar allows you to cross search scholarly literature across many disciplines.
Proquest Science Database This link opens in a new window
Coverage of Applied & General Science: Physics, Engineering, Astronomy, Biology, Earth Science, Chemistry, and more. Coverage: 1986-present, 965 of 1145 journals available in full-text.
PsycInfo (APA) 1887-Current This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive international coverage of scholarly literature in psychology. Includes articles from more than 1300 periodicals in over 25 languages.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to articles in the field of medicine.
ScienceDirect Health & Life Sciences College Edition This link opens in a new window
For full text, set Source to Subscribed journals
DSM Library This link opens in a new window
Online access to DSM-5, DSM-5-TR, DSM-5 Clinical Cases, DSM-5 Handbooks of Differential Diagnosis, and more. The DSM (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders) is the handbook used much of the world as the authoritative guide to the diagnosis of mental disorders. DSM contains descriptions, symptoms and other criteria for diagnosing mental disorders.
Supports areas of neuroscience, psychiatry, mental health and behavioral science.
Proquest Central This link opens in a new window
Includes databases across all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion. The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports.

Human Services and Rehabilitation Studies: Health Care

Recommended Books

Recommended Websites

Find more examples of health care resources here:

https://library.assumption.edu/healthadvocacy

Recommended Databases

Recommended Videos