Course Topics - SCP 670 - Introduction to the Principles & Practices of Social Work/Adjustment Counseling in Schools

A Note on Theme Organization

This section of the guide is organized with sub-tabs that connect to the different themes explored in SCP 670. Each of theme sections include course eBooks, websites, and database keywords to search for additional content. Use the database keywords in each section to search for relevant articles and other content in the databases below.

If you would like to search for additional books with the library website, watch the YouTube below!

Source Evaluation

Evaluation Tools
Determining the credibility of a source is a key step in the research process. This guide provides you with some tools to investigate who is behind the information.

Databases for Journal Articles

DSM Library This link opens in a new window
Online access to DSM-5, DSM-5-TR, DSM-5 Clinical Cases, DSM-5 Handbooks of Differential Diagnosis, and more. The DSM (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders) is the handbook used much of the world as the authoritative guide to the diagnosis of mental disorders. DSM contains descriptions, symptoms and other criteria for diagnosing mental disorders.
Supports areas of neuroscience, psychiatry, mental health and behavioral science.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
A database of citations and abstracts from nearly 1,000 educational journals plus full text of educational documents and papers.
PsycArticles (APA) This link opens in a new window
Find full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
PsycInfo (APA) 1887-Current This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive international coverage of scholarly literature in psychology. Includes articles from more than 1300 periodicals in over 25 languages.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
For educators and librarians. Covers assessment, best practices, continuing education, curriculum development, etc.

These databases are more interdisciplinary in nature but have relevant content for school counselors:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for nearly 3,970 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more.
Proquest Central This link opens in a new window
Includes databases across all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion. The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports.