Library Home: MKT 250: Marketing Research : Databases & Journals

If you've got a citation

If you already have a citation, the title of journal, it's ISSN, or would prefer to browse journals by a particular subject, follow the steps below:

Click on the Journals tab from the library search bar
Choose from the following options in the drop-down menu to the left of the search box: Title begins with, title equals, title contains all words, or ISSN equals.
Enter all or part of the journal title and then select the SEARCH button. Make sure that you are entering the title of the journal, not the title of the article itself.
Locate the correct title from the results list.
Select the title with the dates that you need and choose the database name next to your preferred dates.
You will be redirected to another screen where you can search for your article.
If the journal or date you want is not available, order the article through interlibrary loan using the link below.

Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)
Borrow from other libraries with our interlibrary loan system. *Articles & book chapters will be sent electronically and books will be available at the front desk unless you request to have them mailed to you.*

Source Evaluation

Source evaluation is a critical step in the research process because this process ensures that the sources are credible whether it is a website, a scholarly article, or a newspaper. Though evaluation is a very nuanced and layered concept, you can start by exploring these four areas:

Author: The goal here is to establish the author's experience and credentials to write about a given topic. To gather this information, look at other pieces the author has written and what organization he/she works for.
Publication: Determine the legitimacy of the source.
- If the source is a scholarly journal, is the journal peer-reviewed? Do the references cited in the article make sense?
- If the source is popular, what is the public perception of the source? Is it well-regarded?
Funding: Money can influence what is written about topics, so it is important to investigate for traces of financial influence.
- Studies and surveys might have information in sections titled acknowledgements, conflict of interest, and funding.
Claims: The easiest place is to start with what can be verified (numbers, quotes, facts, statistics, etc.) by either a reference or using external tools like Google and Wikipedia to verify (a process called lateral reading).

The tools below provide more concrete ways to investigate your sources with charts and a video on lateral reading.

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive business database that offers articles covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. Includes coverage of companies and business trends around the world. Additionally offers many articles in the social sciences.
Business Insights This link opens in a new window
Offers dynamic, accurate, and up-to-date topical business information and company and industry intelligence on thousands of global companies.
Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Look here for company research, including key executives, financial data, competitors, company data, and history (Used to be known as "Hoover" database)
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier covers topics in accounting, banking, economics, finance, international trade, marketing, management information systems, and operations management. It includes articles from thousands of scholarly, professional, academic, and trade publications. The full text of many titles is available, but only indexing and abstracts for some titles. Includes company profiles of the world's 10,000 largest companies. Allows searching by fields relevant to the study of business, including company name, ticker symbol, product name, geographic location, and NAICS industry code. Harvard Business Review is here 1922-present.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista integrates statistical data from over 80,000 topics in areas such as business, education, finance, media, politics, society, and technology. Statista gathers data from over 20,000 sources, including market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Datasets cover 170 industries and over 150 countries. The reports, charts, infographics, and statistics found in the database can be viewed online or downloaded.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for nearly 3,970 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more.
Proquest Central This link opens in a new window
Includes databases across all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion. The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports.

Finding a Full-Text Journal Article

Some of our databases provide full-text articles (indicated by a PDF or HTML link after the citation). Others only show you the titles of articles. For these, click Article Linker to find out whether we own the journal in print and/or online.

If we do not have access to the article you need, you can request it (free of charge). After logging into your InterLibrary Loan account, the system will automatically fill out the necessary information - you just need to hit Submit Request at the bottom of the page!

New Users to the InterLibrary Loan service, may set up an InterLibrary Loan account here:

Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)
Borrow from other libraries with our interlibrary loan system. *Articles & book chapters will be sent electronically and books will be available at the front desk unless you request to have them mailed to you.*

Evaluation Tools

Evaluation Tools
Lateral Reading

Source Evaluation Charts & Tools
This section of the Resource Process research guide includes straightforward ways to investigate the quality of a given source.

Lateral Reading
Though this video is on the longer side, it covers an key evaluation tool. Lateral reading consists of going outside a source through the use of tools like Google or Wikipedia to verify author expertise, source quality, study funding, among other topics.