Library Home: Political Science: Finding Articles

Recommended Library Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for nearly 3,970 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more.
Foundation Collection - Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Browse a broad collection of historical primary source materials, from newspapers, books, manuscripts, and archives. Includes Early English Books Online, the U.S. Serial Set I, and much more.
Global Issues In Context This link opens in a new window
Focuses on broad issues, such as war, genocide, terrorism, human rights, poverty, famine, globalization, world trade, nuclear proliferation, and global warming, as well as more specific events and topics that are related to these broader issues.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A database of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines including some volumes dating back to the 19th century.
Project Muse - Standard Collection This link opens in a new window
A database of over 100 full text scholarly journals mainly within the past five years.
Political Science Database - Proquest This link opens in a new window
Covers 1985-present
Topics of Political science, International relations, Comparative politics, Political economy, International development, Environmental policy, Human rights,
Migration. Formats of scholarly journals, full-text doctoral dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, country reports, policy papers and more.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Covers timely issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, political science, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
Papers of James Madison This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of the Papers of James Madison, "chief author of the Constitution and the Bill of Rights, secretary of state during the Louisiana Purchase, and the fourth president of the United States."

Find the Full-Text from a Database

What Are Databases?

If you've got a citation

If you already have a citation, the title of journal, it's ISSN, or would prefer to browse journals by a particular subject, follow the steps below:

Click on the Journals tab from the library search bar
Choose from the following options in the drop-down menu to the left of the search box: Title begins with, title equals, title contains all words, or ISSN equals.
Enter all or part of the journal title and then select the SEARCH button. Make sure that you are entering the title of the journal, not the title of the article itself.
Locate the correct title from the results list.
Select the title with the dates that you need and choose the database name next to your preferred dates.
You will be redirected to another screen where you can search for your article.
If the journal or date you want is not available, order the article through interlibrary loan using the link below.

Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)
Borrow from other libraries with our interlibrary loan system. *Articles & book chapters will be sent electronically and books will be available at the front desk unless you request to have them mailed to you.*