Library Home: Theology: Encyclopedias, Commentaries, & Bibles

Online Reference Books

Encyclopedia of Religion - 2nd ed.
2005. Over 3,500 specific topic entries. Emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture.
New Catholic Encyclopedia 2nd ed.
2003. Great general information resource. This 15 volume collection has 12,000 entries on theology, philosophy, history, literary figures, saints, musicians and much more.
New Catholic Encyclopedia Supplement, 2009
2009. Focus on the theme of science and the church.
New Catholic Encyclopedia Supplement, 2010
2010. Focus on the Church in Modern History, particularly WWII and after. It also includes about 200 entries on the men and women who have been beatified or canonized since 2003.
New Catholic Encyclopedia, Jubilee Volume
Focus on the pontificate of John Paul II and includes thematic essays presenting the man and his work. Headings include: The Papacy of John Paul II; Church Documents; People and Places; Institutions and Events, Saints and Blessed.

Encyclopedia Judaica by Fred Skolnik; Michael Berenbaum
Call Number: DS102.8 .E496
Publication Date: 2007
Articles on Jewish faith, life, culture, and history.
Interdisciplinary Atlas of the Bible by Giacomo Perego; Stewart Foster (Translator)
Call Number: G2230 .P4413
Publication Date: 1999
Maps of places mentioned in the Bible.
Religions of the World by J. Gordon Melton (Editor); Martin Baumann (Editor)
Call Number: REF BL80.3 .R45 2002
ISBN: 1576072231
Publication Date: 2002-08-20
Short articles on various faith traditions, practices, and cultures.

New Testament Gateway
"A comprehensive directory of academic internet resources related to the New Testament" compiled by Duke professor Mark Goodacre.
Theological Commons
A digital library, from Princeton University, of over 80,000 resources on theology and religion. It consists mainly of public domain books but also includes periodicals, audio recordings, and other formats.

The Anchor Bible Dictionary by David Noel Freedman; Anchor Bible Staff
Call Number: REF BS440 .A54 1992
ISBN: 0385193602
Publication Date: 1992-06-01
The New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible by Katharine Doob Sakenfeld (General Editor)
Call Number: REF BS440 .N445 2006
ISBN: 9780687333462
The New Interpreter's Bible Commentary Nine Volume Set by Leander E. Keck
Call Number: REF BS491.2 .N484 1994
ISBN: 9781426739125
Publication Date: 2015-10-20
Bible commentary (12-volume set) required by many professors. You must know the specific passage (book name, chapter, and verse) where your term appears. If you don't know the specific passage, use a concordance (see below).
Harpercollins Bible Commentary
Call Number: REF BS491.2 .H37
Publication Date: 2000
Single-volume Bible commentary (i.e., short commentary on each book of the Bible). You must know the specific passage (book name, chapter, and verse) where your term appears. If you don't know the specific passage, use a concordance (see below).
Nelson's Complete Concordance of the Revised Standard Version by John W. Ellison
Call Number: REF BS425 .E4 1972
Publication Date: 1972
Alphabetical list of almost every word used in the Bible, with references to where that word appears. Use a concordance to help you find the book/chapter/verse where your term appears, before using a commentary.