Library Home: Newspapers: Current Newspapers

Online Newspapers

Boston Globe This link opens in a new window
Full-text access back to 1980 for all sections of the paper. Access is provided through the ProQuest Newsstand database.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Full-text access back to 1984 for all sections of the paper. Access is provided through the ProQuest Newsstand database.

New York Times
Available online through several databases. Check "Journals by Title" on the Library website.
Le Provocateur
The Assumption University student newspaper.
Today's Front Pages - Newseum
Links to the front pages of over 800 newspapers worldwide. Provided by the Newseum, a Washington, D.C. museum dedicated to news.

U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1980 - current, and archives, to full-text content in major U.S. news outlets such as LA Times, Chicago Tribune, Wall Street Journal, Boston Globe, NY Times, and more.
Chronicle of Higher Ed This link opens in a new window
Unlimited access to The Chronicle's content, daily news, and data, anytime and anywhere. Includes special issues, ie. The Almanac of Higher Education and The Trends Report as well as searchable access to articles and essays dating back to 1989.
Access to Chronicle.com, whether on or off campus, through IP authentication and domain access.
IP authentication provides seamless access on campus and proxy authentication for those who navigate to Chronicle.com remotely, via the library.
Domain access allows students, faculty, and staff to create a free account using their institutional email addresses, which syncs with the institution’s site license. This account enables full access to Chronicle.com from any device. Additionally, account holders can sign up to receive free newsletters for the latest news stories and commentary on higher ed.

Directories to Online Newspapers

Major national and international newspapers, as well as local newspapers, are easy to find by using news website directories, such as those listed here, or a search engine, such as Google.

Most print newspapers have online editions. Most of these offer some free content. The amount and selection of online content compared to print content varies.

ABYZ Newslinks
Lists over 15,600 newspapers and other news sources by country and by region within each country. There is a language code next to each newspaper and separate links to alternative language versions if they are available.
50states.com - U.S. Newspapers
Links to over 3,300 United States Newspapers. Simply click a state name for a list of links to newspapers in that state.
Google Directory - Newspapers
Links to online newspapers from the United States and around the world.
World Press - World Headlines & Newspapers
One of the web’s largest and most comprehensive directories of World Newspapers and Magazines, sorted by Country, region, and political affiliation.

Other Newspaper Resources

Newspaper Association of America
The Newspaper Association of America is a nonprofit organization representing nearly 2,000 newspapers and their multiplatform businesses in the U.S. and Canada. Provides information on the major issues that affect today’s newspaper industry.
Newspaper Pictorials
During the World War I era (1914-18), leading newspapers took advantage of a new printing process that dramatically altered their ability to reproduce images. Rotogravure printing, which produced richly detailed, high quality illustrations—even on inexpensive newsprint paper—was used to create vivid new pictorial sections..Here are many from this interesting time.