Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

View All Library Hours


Assumption University Home | Portal (My.Assumption)

Edmond J. Mallet Collection, Manuscripts and Photographs, Held at Assumption University Library: MANUSCRIPTS, ARTICLES AND RESEARCH NOTES

The papers contain correspondence, Mallet’s manuscripts for books and articles, reports as Indian Inspector and Special Disbursing Agent, photographs, research and personal notes, and memorandum as Chief of Bureau of Swamplands.

Manuscripts, Articles, and Research Notes

Oregon Missions and the Whitman Massacre A review of Eells, Spaulding, Gray, Griffin and others.
Manuscript

1902

Short history of the Pueblo Indians of New Mexico by Jean-Baptiste Lamy, ABP.
Article Reprint

1874

History of the Pueblas [sic] of New Mexico by Jean-Baptist Lamy, ABP
Original Manuscript

1874

History of the Pueblas [sic] of New Mexico by Jean-Baptist Lamy, ABP
Manuscript copy

1874

Oregon History, Bull of Pope Alexander VI
Fixing limits for the discoveries of the Kings of Spain and Portugal

no date

Louisiana Swamp Land Indemnity Claims
Memorandum (p.1-64) by Mallet

189?

Louisiana Swamp Land Indemnity Claims
Memorandum (p.65-132) by Mallet

189?

Louisiana Swamp Land Indemnity Claims
Memoranda

189?

Nine letters (articles) on the Richmond Campaign written by Mallet to the
"Weekly Advisor" of Oswego, New York

1892

Articles about French Canadians in Oregon
Majority written by Mallet

1881,1883

Article, "Catholic Progress in Washington Territory"
Publication and author unknown

no date

Article about Francois de Salles Cazeau, S.J.
Publication and author unknown

no date

Memorandum from General Land Office regarding the claim of Champaign County.
Written by Binger Hermann to Isaac Hitt

1897

Articles regarding the excavations of a Jesuit Church
Written by Faucher de St. Maurice, unknown publication

no date

Article written by Mallet "Very Rev. Pierre Gibault. The Patriot Priest of the West".
"New York Freeman's Journal"

1882

Mallet's diary notes

no date

2 articles on Chicago and Boubonnais
Publishers "L'Opinion Publilque" and "Courrier de L'Illinois"

1884,188?

Article "Another Bishop in the Church! Consecration of RT. Rev. Aegidius Junger, Bishop of Nesqualy."
Published by "The Catholic Sentinel", Portland, Oregon.

1879

Article and reprint regarding genealogy of Dr. John McLoughlin.  Article is made of correspondence concerning his geneology.  Archbishop Blanchet is involved in the investigation based on the correspondence.
Published by "The Catholic Sentinel"

1882

Carroll, John Bishop (1735-1815)
2 portraits

no date

81st Regiment, New York Veteran Volunteer Association.
Compilation of regret letters from absent comrades for the 22nd Annual Gathering in Phoenix, N.Y.

1905

Congressional Directory Cover. 1st session, 56th Congress
Mallet's name is stamped on cover

 

1899

D'Ailleboust Family
Mallet's notes taken from "Histoire des Grandes Familles Française du Canada"

no date

Founders of American Cities, biographies from articles.
Thibodeau founder Thibodeau, Louisiana; Bazille and Gervais, founders of St. Paul, Minn.; Levesseur, founder of Bourbonnais, Ill.; Mailhot, founder of Assumption, Ill..

c.1879

Copies of documents from Canadian Archives, inlcudes Mallet's research notes.
List of Canadian officers serving in the army in Mississippi burned during the Thicachats War (1736)
Officers (killed) parts of the Marine troops serving in Canada
Overall picture of different grades of naval officers serving in Canada. (1759)
Military Staff of the troops before the conquest. (1759)
List of officers and cadets who took part in the engagement of July 24, 1759, in Niagara
List of officers and soldiers perished in the Cartel of Augustus, on the island of Cape Brenton, November 1761
A general state of the Canadian noblesse actually resident in the Province of Quebec as in French Service, and where resident in November 1767.


 

1886-1888

Dallas County, Iowa Swamp Land Indemnity Claim
Memorandum written by Mallet in response to letter written by  J.W. Wittne, Law Clerk. Wittne's letter in included.

1898

Article "Very Rev. Pierre Gibault, the Patriot Priest" by Rev. S.S. Lambing.
Reprinted in the Griffin's Journal, Philadelphia

1898

Canadian Archives
From Mallet's handwritten copies of letters from the 1700's and lists of Canadian officers from the same time period.

no date

Chapter on Rev. Blanchet from "A Popular History of the Catholic Church in the United States" by John O'Kane.
Hand copied by Mallet

1876

Manuscript of "The Interesting History of the Missionaries' Voyages"
Unknown author. (Mallet's work?)

no date

Manuscript, " Establishment of the Faith in Oregon. Life of the Most Rev. Francis Norbert Blanchet, D.D. First Archbishop of Oregon City, 1838-1883"
Mallet is author.
"A relation of Mgr. F.N. Blanchet's apostolic labours, according to notes and documents given to the author by the missionary-bishop." - Mallet catalogue

 

Correspondence, memoranda, and notes regarding the Wisconsin Swamp Land Indemnity claim.

1870-1898

Riel Family Notes (per USJB files)
Mallet's Research notes on Riel family

no date

Riel, Louis
Interviews of Mallet on Riel and his trial. Notes by Mallet on Riel.  Copies of photographs of Riel, Madeleine Wilkie, Gabriel Dumont, and Riel's gravesite.
Correspondence from Victor Joyal to his brother. Descendants of Riel. Letter includes genealogical tree.
Holy card with initials R L on back

Multiple

Riel, Louis
Primary and secondary sources of Riel and his trial. Copies of photographs of Riel, Madeleine Wilkie, Gabriel Dumont.

Multiple

Riel, Louis
Bibliography of books and articles about Riel; List of letters by, to, and about Riel; Transcription of letters to his mother and Marguerite written from prison; Materials from the Manitoba archives

Multiple

"Riel Project"
Newsletters and booklets; Correspondence regarding project, some with the USJB; Booklets and newsletters

1979-1982

Riel, Louis
Reproduction of Henri Julien's portrait of Riel, drawn during a tour in Western Canada in 1874
Booklet: La Question Riel, Discours de M. Tassé. Delivered to the "Cercle Lafontaine" Ottawa February 19, 1886;
L'Amnistie: Memoir par M. Louis Riel. Includes a copy, 1874;
House of Commons Debates. Speech of Hon. E. Black, M.P. on the Execution of Louis Riel. Ottawa, March 19th 1886

1974,1886

Mallet, Edmond
Excerpts from Major Washington and Coulon de Villiers journals

no date

Mallet's lecture given in Sept. 1902 "Washington et Coulon de Villiers" (photocopy)
For English translation see MS1/Series4/Folder45

1902

Manuscript of "Washington and Coulon de Villiers: the French and English in the Ohio Valley"
Published in French by  the Société historique franco-américaine in 1906

no date

 

Manuscripts, Articles, and Research Notes

Article, "The Church in Montana" by Rev. L.B. Palladine, S.J.
Published in "The Catholic Sentinel", Portland Oregon

1879

Blanchet, Francois Norbert, ABP
Articles written after his death in June

1883

Blanchet, Francois Norbert, ABP.
Mallet's interview questions to A.M.A. Blanchet regarding F.N. Blanchet
Notes & remarks on F.N. Blanchet, unknown author
"Reminiscences of Early Times" written by F.N. Blanchet for the "The Catholic Sentinel" 1880
Articles, 3, written by F.N. Blanchet for the "Sunday Oregonian" in under the heading of "Historical Notes" 1882

unknown, 1880,1882

Blanchet, Francois Norbert, ABP.
Circular "To the Clergy of the Archdiocese of Oregon and the Vicariate of Idaho, 1879
Booklet, "The Life and Labors of His Grace Most Rev. Francis Norbert Blanchet, D.D., Together with Funeral Sermons…." 2 copies, one is Mallet's given to him by A.M.A. Blanchet, 1883
Booklet, "Historical Notes and Reminiscences of Early Times in Oregon…" by F.N. Blanchet, Complimentary copy to Mallet by author, 1883
Booklet,  Farewell Pastoral of F.N. Blanchet. From the "The Catholic Sentinel" March 1881 (2 copies)
Booklet, "The Key to the Catholic Ladder…with the Authorization of the Archbishop of Oregon city", 1859
Booklet, Investiture of Charles J. Seghers, 1881
Booklet, Pastoral Letter of F.N. Blanchet, 1865
Booklet, Pastoral Letter of F.N. Blanchet, 1869
Booklet, Pastoral Letter of F.N. Blanchet, 1871
Booklet, 50th Jubilee of F.N. Blanchet, 1869
Article on F.N. Blanchet published in "L'Album des Familles".

Multiple

Newspaper, "Catholic Mirror", Third Plenary Council of Baltimore. FRAGILE

Nov. 1884

Article, "The Oregon Mission. Abbe Blanchet Invited to Become its Founder"
Printed in the "Catholic Sentinel" FRAGILE

April 1886

Gagnon, Ferdinand
Articles from Le Travailleur, Worcester, MA on his life and death;
Article from Le Messager, Lewiston ME
Gagnon Obituary
FRAGILE

1886

Manuscript/draft for article(s) "Ferdinand Gagnon: Journalist, Orator and Patriot" by Mallet

1886

Mallet, Edmond
Manuscript of Mallet's " Establishment of the Faith in Oregon: Life of the Most Rev. Francis Norbert Blanchet, D.D. First Archbishop of Oregon State, 1838-1883"

1884

Article and synopsis by Mallet, "The Origin of the Oregon Mission"
Published by the "New York Freeman's Journal and the Catholic Register"

1886

Booklets (2 copies) "Address of the Catholic Clergy of The Province of Oregon…on President Grant's Indian Policy…"
One copy includes opening remarks by F.N. Blanchet.

1874

Articles on the Oregon Missions

1879-1883

Document on the Catholic Ladder
Signed with initials "A.J.F"

1886

Clipping, portrait of Archbishop Gross.
Archbishop of Oregon from 1885-1898 

 

Mallet's pension and Civil War records
Copies from the National Archives

1865-1915

Trembley, Remi
Copies of Pension records from National Archives

1890

Genealogical Tables of Blanchet family in Canada.
Extract of the register of baptism for F.N. Blanchet

1883

Article about A.M.A Blanchet by Mallet
FRAGILE

1887

Manuscript of "Memoirs of the Catholic Church in Oregon, 1838-1878" By F.N. Blanchet edited and enlarged with note by Mallet

1882

Articles, Americanization of French Name
2 articles by F.N. Blanchet

1880

Article, "Our New Indian Policy and Religious Liberty"
Published in "The Catholic World", written by Rev. I.T. Hecker

1877

Manuscript by Mallet about Gabriel Richard, P.S.S. "Pries in Congress"

1897

Booklet, Relation de la Mission  du Missisipi du Seminaire de Québec en 1700"
Written by MM. De Montigny, de St. Cosme, et Thaumur de La Source.

1861

Resolution by St. John Baptist's Benevolent Society of Oswego
Translated by Mallet

1875

"Chinese of the Eastern States", pamphlets and magazine. (1882)
"The Chinese of the Eastern States", reprinted from L'Avenir National (1882)
"The Canadian French in New England" by Carroll D. Wright, the chief of the Massachusetts Bureau of Statistics of Labor (1925)
"The World's Work", includes article "Fifty-Fifty Americans" by Robert Cloutman Dexter. (1924)

Multiple

Ward Six 1879 [copy]
"Scrapbook of lawyer J.H. Guillet about the Chinese of the East. Very Important" [notation on USJB envelope]

 

Ward Six 1879 [FRAGILE, ORIGINAL]
"Scrapbook of lawyer J.H. Guillet about the Chinese of the East. Very Important" [notation on USJB envelope]

 

Blanchet, A.M.A. 
Articles after his death from the "The Catholic Sentinel"
Modern transcription of an article or memo written by Mallet about A.M.A. Blanchet, soon after his death.


 

1887

Brouillet, Rev. Jean Baptiste Abraham
Articles, one by Mallet from "La Minerve", and one more article with eulogy from "The Catholic" after Brouillet's death.

1884

Mallet, Edmond
"The Origin of the Flatheads Missions of the Rocky Mountains"
A paper read before the American Catholic Historical Society of Philadelphia, April 5, 1888. Published in five articles by "The Church News" of Washington, D.C.
Also includes the program for the event on April 5, 1888 and articles on the Flatheads Tribe.

 

1888

Historical notes by Mallet on "Saint Mary's Mission in Bitter Root Valley" manuscript, prepared by an unnamed Jesuit brother.
Mallet has transcribed the original manuscript and his notes are in the margins.
Includes a postcard of "Montana's First Church" in Bitter Root Valley.
Includes typed copies of the manuscript.

No date

Articles on Rev. Father Louis N. St. Onge.
From the "Catholic Herald"

1879

Oregon Missions and the Whitman Massacre A review of Eells, Spaulding, Gray, Griffin and others. 
Preface and chapter summaries

1902

Oregon Missions and the Whitman Massacre A review of Eells, Spaulding, Gray, Griffin and others.
Manuscript.

1903

Articles - The Whitman Massacre
Various publications and authors

1880's

Manuscript "The Oregon Missions and the Whitman Massacre" by Edmond Mallet

1903

Manuscript "The Object of Dr. Whitman's Famous Mid-Winter Journey"
by Rev. M. Eells.
Hand written transcription by Mallet

No date

Manuscript "The Oregon Missions and the Whitman Massacre" by Edmond Mallet - Copy with edits. 

1902

Whitman, Marcus;
Correspondence to William I. Marshall from Jesse Applegate

1885

Whitman, Marcus;
Correspondence to William I. Marshall from Peter H. Burnett

1884,1885

 

Manuscripts, Articles, and Research Notes

Whitman, Marcus;
Correspondence to William I. Marshall from Dougherty

1885

Whitman, Marcus;
Correspondence to William I. Marshall from Myron, Eells

1882

Whitman, Marcus;
Correspondence to William I. Marshall from Elwood Evans

1882,1884

Whitman, Marcus;
Correspondence to William I. Marshall from A. Hill

1885

Whitman, Marcus;
Correspondence to William I. Marshall from J.M. Shively

1884,1885

Whitman, Marcus;
Correspondence to William I. Marshall from F.F. Victor

1882,1884,
1885

Whitman, Marcus;
Correspondence to Archibald McKinley from D. Greene, Secy of the American Board of Commissions for Foreign Missions.

1884

Whitman, Marcus;
Article from "The Weekly News" May 17, 1883

1883

"The Catholic Sentinel for the Northwest", article series Historical Sketches of the Catholic Church in Oregon During the Past Forty Years. Sketch V, Missionary Labors at Colville, O'Kanagan, and Walla Walla.

March 7, 1878

"The Catholic Sentinel for the Northwest", article series Historical Sketches of the Catholic Church in Oregon During the Past Forty Years. Sketch VI, Continuation of Archbishops Blanchet's Letter.

March 14, 1878

"The Catholic Sentinel for the Northwest", article series Historical Sketches of the Catholic Church in Oregon During the Past Forty Years. Sketch VII, Conclusion of Archbishops Blanchet's Letter.

March 21, 1878

"The Catholic Sentinel for the Northwest", article series Historical Sketches of the Catholic Church in Oregon During the Past Forty Years. Sketch VIII, Interesting Letter from Rev. Modeste Demers, to Rev. C. F. Cazeau, Sec'ty, Quebec.

March 28, 1878

"The Catholic Sentinel for the Northwest", article series Historical Sketches of the Catholic Church in Oregon During the Past Forty Year". Sketch IX.

April 11, 1878

"The Catholic Sentinel for the Northwest", article series Historical Sketches of the Catholic Church in Oregon During the Past Forty Years. Sketch X Remarkable Conversion of Dr. John McLaughlin.

April 18, 1878

"The Catholic Sentinel for the Northwest", article series Historical Sketches of the Catholic Church in Oregon During the Past Forty Years. Sketch XI.

April 25, 1878

"The Catholic Sentinel for the Northwest", article series Historical Sketches of the Catholic Church in Oregon During the Past Forty Years. Sketch XII, First Mission to Cowlitz, Washington Territory 1839.

May 2, 1878

"The Catholic Sentinel for the Northwest", article series Historical Sketches of the Catholic Church in Oregon During the Past Forty Years. Sketch XIII, Second Mission in the Wallamette Valley. 

May 9, 1878

"The Catholic Sentinel for the Northwest", article series Historical Sketches of the Catholic Church in Oregon During the Past Forty Years. Sketch XIV, The Brigade of the North. Mission of Father Demers to Fort Colville in 1839. (2)

May 16, 1878

The Catholic Sentinel for the Northwest, article series Historical Sketches of the Catholic Church in Oregon During the Past Forty Years. Sketch XV, Second Mission to Nesqualy

May 23, 1878

"The Catholic Sentinel for the Northwest", article series Historical Sketches of the Catholic Church in Oregon During the Past Forty Years. Sketch XVI, Sketch of the Cowlitz Mission by Rev. M. Demers. (2)

May 30, 1878

"The Catholic Sentinel for the Northwest", article series Historical Sketches of the Catholic Church in Oregon During the Past Forty Years. Sketch XVI,I Missionary Labors in 1840. Missions to Vancouver, Nesqualy, Whidby Island, Chinook Point, Brigades, Colville, and First Communion at St. Paul. (2)

June 6, 1878

"The Catholic Sentinel for the Northwest" article series Historical Sketches of the Catholic Church in Oregon During the Past Forty Years. Sketch XIX, Missionary Labors in 1840. Missions to Vancouver, Nesqualy, Whidby Island, Chinook Point, Brigades, Colville, and First Communion at St. Paul.

June 13, 1878

"The Catholic Sentinel for the Northwest", article series Historical Sketches of the Catholic Church in Oregon During the Past Forty Years. Sketch XX, Missionary Labors in 1841 at Vancouver, Clackamas Falls of the Wallamette and Cascades. (2)

June 20, 1878

"The Catholic Sentinel for the Northwest", article series Historical Sketches of the Catholic Church in Oregon During the Past Forty Years. Sketch XXI, Additional Incidents in 1840.(2) 

June 27, 1878

"The Catholic Sentinel for the Northwest", article series Historical Sketches of the Catholic Church in Oregon During the Past Forty Years. Sketch XXII, Incidents in 1841.

July 4, 1878

"The Catholic Sentinel for the Northwest", article series Historical Sketches of the Catholic Church in Oregon During the Past Forty Years. Sketch XXIII, The Arrival of Father DeSmet, S.J. 

July 11, 1878

"The Catholic Sentinel for the Northwest", article series Historical Sketches of the Catholic Church in Oregon During the Past Forty Years. Sketch XXIV, Missionary Labors of 1844. 

July 25, 1878

The Catholic Sentinel for the Northwest, article series Historical Sketches of the Catholic Church in Oregon During the Past Forty Years. Sketch XXVI, Missionary Labors in 1845 and 1846. 

August 8, 1878

The Catholic Sentinel for the Northwest, article series Historical Sketches of the Catholic Church in Oregon During the Past Forty Years. Sketch XXVII, Bishop Elect Journey to Canada, Rome, and Return to Oregon. 

August 15, 1878

The Catholic Sentinel for the Northwest, article series Historical Sketches of the Catholic Church in Oregon During the Past Forty Years. Sketch XXIX, Narrow of Mr. Spaulding. - The Lives of Father Brouillet, Bishop and Clergy in Great Danger -- The Prisoners Redeemed and Carried to Oregon City by Chief Factor Ogden. 

August 29, 1878

The Catholic Sentinel for the Northwest, article series Historical Sketches of the Catholic Church in Oregon During the Past Forty Years. Sketch XXX, Father Brouillet's Pamphlet in 1848, 1857, 1869 and 1871. Charges renewed in 1869 and 1871 and answered in 1872. 

September 5, 1878

The Catholic Sentinel for the Northwest, article series Historical Sketches of the Catholic Church in Oregon During the Past Forty Years. Sketch XXXI, Chronological Notes and Conclusion. 

September 12, 1878

Danielson, Conn., Journal  de mes pas et démarches dans le diocèse de Hartford au sujet de la Question de Danielson, by Rev. J.B. Proulx

1896

Danielson, Conn., Mémoire sur la situation des Canadien-Français aux Etats-Unis de l'Amérique du Nord, by Mgr. A. Racine.

1896

Danielson, Conn., Quelques documents importants pour aider à l'intelligence de la question de Danielson.

1896

Blanchet, Joseph Goderic, article from "L'Album des Familles"

c.1880-1884

Mallet Catalog