Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

View All Library Hours


Assumption University Home | Portal (My.Assumption)

Edmond J. Mallet Collection, Manuscripts and Photographs, Held at Assumption University Library: CORRESPONDENCE

The papers contain correspondence, Mallet’s manuscripts for books and articles, reports as Indian Inspector and Special Disbursing Agent, photographs, research and personal notes, and memorandum as Chief of Bureau of Swamplands.

Correspondence

Names are recipient or author of correspondence with Mallet

Written to or by Mallet unless stated otherwise


Number of items in parenthesis

Date

Anger, P.H. (1)

1882

Archambault, J. L. (1)

1882

Archambault, Jules N. (1)
Mallet (1)

1885

Association Catholique des Jeunes Gens (2)

1882

 Association Mallet (4)

1888

Association Montcalm (4)
Mallet (1)
Circular letter by Association Moncalm (1)
Scribbled letter by Mallet (1)

1881-1883

Barnabé, Rev. F. (3)
RE:RIEL, LOUIS

 1874,1875,1878

Beaubien, Rev. A. (1)

1888

Beauchemin et Valois (0)
Mallet (1)

1884

Beaulieu, Rev. N. (0)
Mallet (1)
RE: BLANCHET, F.N.

1883

Bedard, Rev. P.J.B. (3)

1883

Bedard, T.P. (1)

1883

Bélair, Rev, Joseph (0)
Mallet (1)
RE: BLANCHET, F.N.

1884

Belisle, Alexandre (8)

1889,1895,1901,
1902,1903

Biarnès, Paul (1)

1894

Bizet, A. (1)
Misaddressed to Honoré Mercier, then passed onto Mallet

1892?

Blanchet, A.M.A.  (2)
Mallet (3)

1877,1886,1884
1885,1888

Blanchet, Francois Norbert, ABP
TO: Cormier, Rev. F.X.
TO: Badin, Abbé
TO: Provencher, Joseph Norbert
TO: Signay, Joseph B. FROM: Provencher, Joseph Norbert
FROM: Badin, Abbé


1882
1873
1836
1835
1872

Blanchet, Rev. F.X. (1)

1888

Boisvert, Aimé (1)

1901

Boland, Henri (2)

1886,1887

Bouland, A. Leon, MGR (4)

1883,1887

Bryant, Wilbur F. (21)
RE:RIEL, LOUIS
Includes scribbled note from Mallet

1887-1889

Burnett, Frank (0)
Mallet (1)

1884

Cadieux et Derome (0)
Mallet (4)

1883,1884

Cambell, Rollo (13)
Mallet (3)

1884,1886,1887,1888
1884,1887

Cercle Catholique de Québec (7)

1880,1881,1882,1882,1887

Cercle Salaberry, Fall River, MA (1)
Mallet (1)

1884
1884

Cesari, Rev. Don Mansueto (1)

1885

Chagnon, Abbé F. X. (37)
Mallet (1)

1883-1902
1883

Chambrum, Marquis De (1)

1895

Champagne, Rev. P. B. (1)

1888

Chandonnet, Abbé T. A. (1)

1889

Chapman, William (4)

1888,1889

Charette, Rev. Joseph (1)

1881

Charland, J. Hermas (3)

1886,1888

Chirouse, E. (2)

1877

Choquet, A. (1)

1889

Chouinard, H.J.H.B. (1)

1880

Correspondence

Cleveland, Grover, President (0)
Mallet (1)
RE: VISIT OF DUMONT, GABRIEL

1887

Cormier, Rev. F. X. (2)
Mallet (1)
INCLUDES MALLET'S NOTES ON NEW BRUNSWICK MISSION TAKEN FROM CORMIER'S LETTER TO BLANCHET

1883,1884
1883

Cotte, Alfred M. (0)
Mallet (2)


1885

Daniel, Rev. Francois (3)
Mallet (6)

1885
1884,1885

D'Asté, J., S.J. (0)
Mallet (3)


1885

De Celles, A.D. (1)

1897

Department. of the Interior (4)
RE:MALLET'S APPOINTMENT AND TIME AS INDIAN AGENT AND INDIAN INSPECTOR 

1876,1877,1888
1889

Department of Treasury (1)
RE: MALLET'S SALARY AS INDIAN INSPECTOR

1889

Dielman, Rev. Leopold (0)
Mallet (1)

1
885

Dionne, N.E. (11)

1880-1882,1884,
1892-1893

Dubuque, H.A. (9)
Mallet (1)
RE:SLANDER ON THE SENATE FLOOR REGARDING FRENCH CANADIAN LABORER (1883)
MALLET'S REQUSTING HELP WITH HIS GOV'T CAREER (1886)

1883,1886
1886

Dufresne, E.R. (6)

1888-1890

Dumont, Gabriel (6)

1887-1888,1892

Favreau, J. Arthur (4)

1901-1902

Feeney, Edward & Co. (0)
Mallet (1)


1883

Foley, William (10)
Mallet (2)
RE: RIEL, LOUIS

1884-1886
1883,1885

Fortin, Rev. Joseph S. (1)

1892

Fournier, J.A. O.M.I (1)Fournier, J.A. O.M.I (1)

1888

Franchére, Esq. (0)
Mallet (1)


1884

Fraiser, Charles (1 copy)

1890

Gagnon, Ernest (4)

1886-1889

Gagnon, Ferdinand (1)
Mallet (1)

1883
1885

Gauthier, A.A. (0)
Mallet (1)


1883

Gosselin, A. (1)

1888

Gosselin, Abbé A.H. (3)

1902

Gosselin, Jean (2)
Mallet (1)

1883
1883

Gosselin, Joseph (1)

1891

Guay, Charles, MGR (1)
Mallet (1)

1883
1883

Hamel, Thomas, E. MGR (8)
Mallet (2)
SEE  NOTES ON FILE

1884-1888
1884

Hannan, Daniel (0)
Mallet (1)


1883

Harquell, John L. (5)
Mallet (1)

1883-1885
1883

Houde, Antoine (0)
Mallet (1)
RE: RIEL, LOUIS


1886

Hurtubise, Francis X. (4)

1890,1891,1892,1896

Institute Canadien-Francais, Biddeford Maine (1)

1882

Institute Canadien-Francais, New York (1)

1888

Ireland, John, ABP (1)

1887

Jannet, Claudio (10)
Mallet (1)
Includes Mallet's notes

1881-1891
1883

Journalists of New York & New England (1)
RE: PETITION TO U.S. PRESIDENT TO APPOINT MALLET INDIAN INSPECTOR

No date

Kent, Mrs. Rachel (1)
Mallet (1)

1880
1880

LaFlèche, Louis-Francois Richer (1)

1884

Correspondence

Lalime, A.G. (1)

1887

Lamb, P.B.F (0)
Mallet (1)


1885

Lamont, Daniel (2)
PRIVATE SECRETARY TO PRESiDENT CLEVELAND CONCERNING DUMONT VISIT
SEE RELATED CORRESPONDENCE FILED UNDER CLEVELAND

1887,1888

La Rue, H.G. (0)
Mallet (1)


1886

Laramée, Rev. E.L. (3)
Mallet notes on issue addressed in letter

1886

Lassell, Charles B. (0)
Mallet (2)


1883

LeBoeuf, Joseph (4)

1875,1880,1885,
1897

FROM: Le Febure, B.J. TO: Pierrepont, Mr.
COPY OF A THE LETTER AND TRANSLATION, BOTH BY MALLET

1875

Légaré, Jean Louis (5)

1881,1882,1883

Lemieux, F.X. (1)
RE:RIEL, LOUIS

1887

Lenthier, Benjamin (14)

1883-1895

Lesage, S. (1)

1880

Longpré, A.B. (29)
Mallet (1) Scribbled letter unclear who recipient is
RE: RIEL, LOUIS

1881-1888
no date

McMaster (0)
Mallet (1)
RE: RIEL, LOUIS


1885

Maleville, J. P. (1)

1888

Manny, J.L. (3)

1887

Marceau, Ernest (0)
Mallet (1)


1884

Marcoux, Rev. J.E. (2)
Mallet (4)
RE: RIEL, LOUIS

1885,1888
1884,1885,1886

Marion, Alfred N. (22)

1878-1891

Marshall, William I. (6)

1885,1887

Martel, L. J. (6)
Mallet (2)
RE: RIEL, LOUIS

1886-1889
1884,1886

Martin, Joseph (0)
Mallet (1)


1883

Masson, Philippe (5)

1881-1883

Mercier, Honoré (4)
INCLUDES COPY OF 2 STATUTES IN FAVOR OF FRANCIS CAZEAU & A LETTER OF THE REGISTER'S OFFICE OF THE TREASURY DEPARTMENT

1888,1893

Michaud (0)
Mallet (3)


1884

Milette, Rev. J.B.H.V. (11)
RE: RIEL, LOUIS QUESTION

1881-1883,1886

Millette, Vital N.B. (2)

1883,1885,1886,
1888

Mitchell, Rev. James H. (5)

1883,1885,1886,
1888

Montigny, B.A.T. DE (2)

1885

Montmarquet, J.D. (12)
Mallet (1)

1880,1881,1882,1883
1881

Montpetit, A.N. (0)
Mallet (1)
RE: PENSION CASE, INCLUDES NEWSPAPER CLIPPING


1886

Muehlsieper, Very Rev. H. (0)
Mallet (1)


1885

Mullett, A.E. (0)
Mallet (1)


1885

Nixon, Alban H. (2)

1888,1890

Office of Inspector of Indian Affairs (1)

1876

Pagnuelo, Siméon (1)

1874 or 1879

Pinault, L.F. (1)

1891

Pizzini, Juan A. (0)
Mallet (1)


1883

Pope Pius IX (1)
Copied and translated into English

1883

Pothier Aram J. (5)
Mallet (1)

1880,1887,1889,1892
1892

Correspondence

Trudel, F.X.A. (11)
1 to Mrs. Mallet
Trudel, F.X.A. (11) 1 to Mrs. Mallet

Prendergast, J.A. (0)
Mallet (1)


1884?

Prevost, P. (2)

1886

Riel, Louis (5)
File includes correspondence to Mallet from Barnabé, Milette, and Primeau. Original copies of correspondence filed under their name. 

1875, no date

Roy, mme V.V.E. Eugène (15)

1892,1894-1897

Ryan, Very Rev. R. (0)
Mallet (1)


1885

Sasserville, Rev. J. (0)
Mallet (1)
RE: GIBAULT, PIERRE


1886

Saint-Pierre, Télesphore (2)

1886

Seghers, Most Rev. C. J. (0)
Mallet (2)


1885

Shea, Isabel (1)
RE: ASKING FOR ANY LETTER MALLET HAS FROM HER FATHER DR. GILMARY SHEA.

No date

Shea, John  Gilmary (0)
Mallet (1)


1884

Sicotte, L.W. (2)

1892

Société Francaise de Bienfaisance, Washington, DC (1)
Includes Mallets membership card to the society.

1883

Société Historique de Montréal (1)

1881

Société Saint-Jean-Baptiste D'Essex Windor, Ontario (1)
Mallet (1)

1883
1883

Société Saint-Jean-Baptiste De Worcester, Mass (2)
Mallet (1)

1883
1883

Sulte, Benjamin (13)
Vanesses, P.B. (1) to Sulte, Sulte forwarded to Mallet

1880-1883
1880

Transcription of Sulte and Vanesses letters

Taché, J.L. (12)
Mallet (2)
RE: RIEL, LOUIS

1880-1886
1884,1886

Tanguay, Abbé Cyrien (1)

1881

Tardivel, Emile 
Mallet (1)
Edmond Mallet, Jr. (1)

1886-1891

Tassé, Joseph (61)
Mallet (1)

1874-1882,1891
1883

Thibault, Charles (48)
RE:LOUIS RIEL, ENTITLED "CONFIDENTIELLE"
PER U.S.J.B. 2 LETTERS FROM 1884 ARE COPIES.

1880-1888

Thwaites, Reuben Gold (0)
Mallet (1) draft letter


1902

Tonnancour, Godefroy DE (1)

1887

Tracey, Charles (8), (1) telegram

1887,1888,1890,
1893-1895

 

Tremblay, Rémi (6)
Mallet (4)
INCLUDES 2 NEWSPAPER CLIPPINGS, 1 BY NARCISSE CYR AND 1 BY TREMBLAY IN RESPONSE REGARDING TREMBLAY'S SUPPOSED DESERTION FROM THE CIVIL WAR

1885-1887
1885-1886

Trudel, F.X.A. (11)
1 to Mrs. Mallet
Mallet (3)

1884-1888

1885-1886

Valette (0)
Mallet (1)


1886

Vander Sanden, Rev. H. (0)
Mallet (1)

1885

Varin, J.G. (1)
Mallet (1)
INCLUDES COPY OF VARIN'S FATHER'S DISCHARGE PAPERS FROM CIVIL WAR

1885
1885

Varreau, Abbé H.A. (9)

1881,1885,1886,
1891

Vincelette, Ed. (2)

1890

MALLET CORRESPONDENCE