Websites - MKT 316 - Public Relations - Library Home at Assumption University

Marketing

Working Knowledge - Marketing - Harvard Business School
This site features new work from among the more than 200 HBS faculty at the forefront of their diverse fields of expertise, providing a valuable source of inspiration for executives, entrepreneurs, and managers seeking to keep their organizations at the leading edge of innovation and change.
Quantcast.com
Measures the site usage for many websites. A personal website won’t work, but a business, such as Assumption.edu, has a full breakdown. Interesting usage information.
KnowThis.com
This site, started by a university marketing professor and a business librarian, provides regularly updated blog postings, tutorials, marketing stories, and hundreds of links to key industry resources.

American Factfinder
Part of the US Census Bureau site, but can narrow down trends to a specific community (your town).
American Time Use Survey
According to the US Bureau of Labor Statistics which hosts this site, “The American Time Use Survey (ATUS) measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing.”
Bureau of Economic Analysis
Provides information to the government and the public regarding regional, national, international, and industry economic data.
Consumer Expenditures
Provides information regarding American consumer spending over the past 10 years.
Current population survey
State & County QuickFacts - Business & Industry Statistics
QuickFacts, from the U.S. Census Bureau, includes business, industry and economic statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with more than 5,000 people.
U.S. Economic Census
The Economic Census is the U.S. Government's official five-year measure of American business and the economy. It is conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau, and forms go out to more than 4 million businesses, including large, medium and small companies representing all U.S. locations and industries. Respondents are asked to provide a range of operational and performance data for their companies.

City-Data.com
Shows tons of general data for a given city- not complete, however can search by state below and then choose from a listing to expand and find out what data they do have.
Doing Business.com
Compares business regulations across the world; Has rankings, statistics, reports, and provides tools for comparison. Published by World Bank, a reputable source.
MediaPost Publications
Has lots of information on trends and things to look out for in marketing. The research tab leads to a quick briefs link.
National Grocer's Association
Large association for grocery industry. Shows what trends exist in food and beverage products.
Population Reference Bureau
According to the site, their focus is “Reproductive Health and Fertility; Children and Families; Population and the Environment; and Population Futures—Aging, Inequality and Poverty, Migration and Urbanization, and Gender.” They provide ample information relevant to these topics.
Quantcast.com
Measures the site usage for many websites. A personal website won’t work, but a business, such as Assumption.edu, has a full breakdown. Interesting usage information.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista integrates statistical data from over 80,000 topics in areas such as business, education, finance, media, politics, society, and technology. Statista gathers data from over 20,000 sources, including market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Datasets cover 170 industries and over 150 countries. The reports, charts, infographics, and statistics found in the database can be viewed online or downloaded.

Fast Company
A leading progressive business magazine with a unique editorial focus on innovation in technology, ethonomics (ethical economics), leadership, and design. Fast Company chronicles how changing companies create and compete, highlights new business practices, and showcases the teams and individuals who are inventing the future and reinventing business.
strategy+business
A management magazine for decision makers in businesses and organizations around the world. It's purpose is to illuminate the complex choices that leaders face — in strategy, marketing, operations, human capital, governance, and other domains — and the impact of their decisions.
Innovation Navigation
This podcast "offers live, unscripted access to world-renowned thought leaders, executives, and faculty. Broadcasting weekly from The Wharton School's Ivy League campus via Sirius XM's trailblazing Wharton Business Radio channel, the program delivers invaluable advice for executives or managers who want to boost their organization's ability to innovate."
The Thinkers 50
This website produces a global ranking of the top management thinkers, published every two years. Provides individual biographies, interviews, videos and related sites for additional information on each subject.