Find Data and Statistics - ECO 499 - Senior Research Seminar

Statista

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista integrates statistical data from over 80,000 topics in areas such as business, education, finance, media, politics, society, and technology. Statista gathers data from over 20,000 sources, including market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Datasets cover 170 industries and over 150 countries. The reports, charts, infographics, and statistics found in the database can be viewed online or downloaded.

U.S. Data and Statistics

American Factfinder
Part of the US Census Bureau site, but can narrow down trends to a specific community (your town).
Bureau of Economic Analysis
Provides information to the government and the public regarding regional, national, international, and industry economic data.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Comprehensive place to go for statistics on inflation, labor, unemployment, and more.
Census Bureau
Information on people, households, economic indicators, foreign trade, education, religion, and other specifics.
Economy at a Glance
Current and back data on economy- a go-to quick look.
The Federal Reserve
Provides analysis and reports on monetary policy, banking regulations, consumer information and economic development among other related topics.
Google Public Data
The Google Public Data Explorer makes large, public-interest datasets easy to explore, visualize and communicate. Users can create visualizations of public data, link to them, or embed them in their own webpages. Embedded charts and links can update automatically so you’re always sharing the latest available data.
IRS Tax Stats
Find a wide range of tables, articles, and data that describe and measure elements of the U.S. tax system.
Kids Count
Annual data on American children and families
National Center for Charitable Statistics
Data on US based non-profit organizations including public charities and private foundations.
Statistical Sites recommended by the BLS
Find links to statistical organizations operating in the U.S. and internationally.

Public Opinion Stats

Gallup Poll: Great reputation as a nonpartisan poll/survey examiner for news "based on US and world polls, daily tracking and public opinion research." Use the resources pull down, and go to topics A-Z, or just enter your basic terms in the search box.

Pew Institute: A nonpartisan site that uses polls/surveys to examine current issues and trends affecting America and the world. Use the search box to look for a specific item, or the topic index (tab at the top) or search by general overview. Scroll down in each issue, as there are several survey questions shown for each.

Roper Center for Public Opinion : Hot Topics, statistics archived since the 1930's to present. Entire site is useful, but the topics area narrows it down. Very useful.

International Data and Statistics

European Central Bank
The central bank of the 19 European Union countries which have adopted the euro. Find statistics on inflation rates, GDP growth, exchange rates, household debt ratio, and more.
European Union
Find statistics and opinion polls produced by the European Union.
Eurostat
Find European statistics on population, labor markets, housing prices, international trade, and more.
Google Public Data
The Google Public Data Explorer makes large, public-interest datasets easy to explore, visualize and communicate. Users can create visualizations of public data, link to them, or embed them in their own webpages. Embedded charts and links can update automatically so you’re always sharing the latest available data.
International Data Base (IDB)
Find demographic indicators, population pyramids, and source information for countries and areas of the world with a population of 5,000 or more.
International Labor Statistics
The International Labour Organization is an agency of the U.N. It provides data tables for topics such as employment, wages, working time, safety and health, etc.
International Monetary Fund - World Economic Outlook Database
Use this database to find data on national accounts, inflation, unemployment rates, balance of payments, fiscal indicators, trade for countries, etc.
Statistical Sites recommended by the BLS
Find links to statistical organizations operating in the U.S. and internationally.
UN Data
UNdata contains more than 60 million records from various UN groups (UNESCO, UNHCR, Food and Agriculture Organization, World Health Organization). Users can use the keyword search, view country profiles, limit results to specific UN organizations, and explore popular topics (population, crime, health): Get worldwide info, e.g. internet use.
World Bank
Find data and research publications on poverty, urban development, financial inclusion, and more organized by country, sector, or theme.
World Trade Organization
The WTO provides documents, data, and resources on economic and trade policy issues.

Reading Data & Understanding Algorithms

"Future Literacies: Crash Course Media Literacy #12” YouTube, uploaded by d'Alzon Library, 18 June 2019, https://youtu.be/Q_aXzpeam0s. 7:37 minutes

ECO 499 - Senior Research Seminar: Find Data and Statistics

Statista

U.S. Data and Statistics

Public Opinion Stats

International Data and Statistics

Reading Data & Understanding Algorithms