Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Art History Resources on the Web
A good, sometimes updated, site. Provides a nice breakdown of topics. The site has the author’s ads for his books, but avoid these, and stay to the left or center of the page for relevant information.
With the goal of “spreading the word of art, through video, The Indianapolic Museum of Art sponsored this site’s compilation of videos and artists and art. It is an open and interactive social network/Web site.
Mother of All Art and Art History Pages
Links from the University of Michigan School of Art
Smithsonian Institution Research Information System (SIRIS)
Includes Archives of American Art, Painting, Photo, and Sculpture Inventories (inscription, location, owner,medium, referenced works, and guide to images on file), and highlights of much requested items. Has a sculpture inventory by state- fun.
A good site to find government related issues and art. For example, native American craft information can be found here. Laws related to the Arts can be found here as well.
Voice of the Shuttle: Art and Art History
A large, but sometimes out of date, listing by topic and A-Z on each, of the resources available on the web put together by the the University of CA, Santa Barbara; It is an updated site, but some departments do have dated information, so there are several dead links. http://vos.ucsb.edu/browse.asp?id=2707 for art, and http://vos.ucsb.edu/browse.asp?id=3404 for art-history.
Worcester Art Museum Virtual Tour
Click on individual pieces of art to hear descriptions about them.
Turn of the Century Posters 1893--Early 20th Century
The collection represents the inception and heyday of magazine, book, and newspaper posters.
Cary Graphic Arts Collection at The Wallace Center
This collection is "one of the country's premier libraries on graphic communication history and practices."
Typedia: A Shared Encyclopedia of Typefaces
"A community-based website with the mission of classifying typefaces and providing public information and forums fo discussion."
Italian renaissance Learning Resources
From Oxford University Press and the national Gallery of Art.
Wiki Art: Visual Art Encyclopedia
Free online repository of art images, from the classical to modern periods. Images in the collection are of works in both the public domain and those protected by copyright. A copyright notice warns users that protected images are for instructional purposes only and should not be copied or downloaded. Artists can be browsed by alphabet, art movement, school or group, genre, nationality, or century.
Documentation related to 132 paintings.
Note* It is your responsibility to abide by any copyright restrictions pertaining to the use of any images found and/or used from these sites.
A large online free photo collection. You can download and use any image or texture from our site and use it in your own work, either personal or commercial.
Creative Commons Search
Find media that you can share, reuse, and remix. Be sure to check the details of the type of Creative Commons license each contributor has attached to his/her work.
Southeast Asian Images and Texts
From the University of Wisconsin, this has images related to Southeast Asia, Thailand, Laos, and the Philippines.
North Adams,MA: includes performance arts.
RISD Museum of Art
Providence, RI: has a great textile collection.
Museum of Fine Arts
Boston,MA: in addition to its good overall Web site, this has a good textile and fashion arts collection.
Lincoln, MA: sculpture and painting; Offers several non-degree classes.
Norman Rockwell Museum
Stockbridge , MA: Premise is to provide education and art appreciation of Norman Rockwell. The museum “preserves, studies and communicates with a worldwide audience the life, art and spirit of Norman Rockwell in the field of illustration. (website)”
Worcester Art Museum
A great local resource that is easy to get to and very welcoming of students. They have an excellent web page in conjunction with Holy Cross that shows photos of art works and gives catalog to both H.C. and the Worcester Art Museum libraries. It is called Bridges to Art. They have a nice digital collection in addition to their wonderful art library on site. Free museum passes are available at the d’Alzon Library.
The Getty (Museum)
Not only links to a virtual museum, but also houses lots of scholarly resources in their Research Institute and library. Offers interactive multimedia tools and features videos and audio recordings about the works of art and conferences at the museum. Check out the “Explore Art” section for much of the visual information. The Getty provides access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Répertoire de la litterature de l’art (RILA) for no charge on its website. The da
Smithsonian American Art Museum
All regions, cultures, and traditions of the art and artists of the United States are represented here. “The Smithsonian American Art Museum is the first federal art collection, begun in 1829 with gifts from private collections and art organizations established in the nation’s capital before the founding of the Smithsonian in 1846.” The Collections Tab offers a look at the collection digitally.
National Gallery of Art
Another great museum site, but has an additional feature of online tours with podcasts. This allows the visual timeline of a given artist from a provided list. The online tour gives a work’s breakdown and analysis in full detail, including the technique of the artist. Fun and if researching, a great resource.
Museum of Modern Art (MoMA)
The best place to start to get exactly what you want is the site-map that will direct you to more specific interests. For serendipitous searching, you can navigate through the buttons of the home page. From the website: “…a place that fuels creativity, ignites minds, and provides inspiration. With extraordinary exhibitions and the world’s finest collection of modern and contemporary art, MoMA is dedicated to the conversation between the past and the present, the established and the experim
Metropolitan Museum of Art
This site has a great timeline feature which extensively covers given time periods.