Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

View All Library Hours


Assumption University Home | Portal (My.Assumption)

Art, Music and Theatre: Worcester Art Museum

Worcester Art Museum Library Resources

The Worcester Art Museum is dedicated to the study of the history of art.  The collection spans 50 centuries and encompasses many cultures and civilizations.  The library's resources include books, auction catalogs, periodicals, 35 mm slides, artists files and online images from the collection.  Here are some tips for using the library's resources:

Research a Piece of Art

Note the accession number of the piece.  It will be located on the wall lavel of the object being displayed.  Check the Museum's handbook for items not on display.

Ask a librarian to assist you in searching the index card file which will provide a list of resources about that piece.  These may include books, periodicals and special file folders.

Search WAM's Library Catalog

The Museum's Catalog is hosted by Holy Cross.  Use the pull-down menu to limit your search to the Worcester Art Museum or Worcester Art Museum Images.

Search WAM's Databases

The following databases are available only at the Museum Library:

     American National Biography

     AskArt

The following databases are available at the Museum Library, but may also be accessed remotely through the Boston Public Library when you sign up for their e-library card:

     Art Full Text

     Art Index Retrospective

     Design & Applied Arts Index

CAMEO: Conservation and Art Material Encyclopedia Online is available for researching information about conservation.

Artists' files- especially for contemporary artists

These files on individual artists are not listed in the online catalog, but are arranged alphabetically in the Museum Library.  Call (508.799.4406) or email (library@worcesterart.org) the library to ask if a file is available.

Borrow Slides

Consult a librarian if you would like to borrow slides.

You may borrow up to 60 slides for $10.

--Information from the Worcester Art Museum's librarians