Library Home: Health Advocacy: Find Articles

Finding Articles

To search content from many journals at one time, databases are best.

Here are a few databases that may be relevant for your class.

Nursing & Allied Health Collection This link opens in a new window
Over 6 million articles that will meet the needs of researchers at all levels of nursing in all specialties.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to articles in the field of medicine.
Health & Wellness Resource Center This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive consumer health resource providing accurate, authoritative information on a full range of health-related issues.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for nearly 3,970 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive business database that offers articles covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. Includes coverage of companies and business trends around the world. Additionally offers many articles in the social sciences.
Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Database of articles including some full text on various topics.
DSM Library This link opens in a new window
Online access to DSM-5, DSM-5-TR, DSM-5 Clinical Cases, DSM-5 Handbooks of Differential Diagnosis, and more. The DSM (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders) is the handbook used much of the world as the authoritative guide to the diagnosis of mental disorders. DSM contains descriptions, symptoms and other criteria for diagnosing mental disorders.
Supports areas of neuroscience, psychiatry, mental health and behavioral science.
Proquest Central This link opens in a new window
Includes databases across all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion. The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports.

Finding Full Text

Some of our databases provide full-text articles (indicated by a PDF or HTML link after the citation). Others only show you the titles of articles. For these, click Article Linker to find out whether we own the journal in print and/or online. Note the year of the journal article and make sure we own the year you need!

If we don't own the journal article you need, you may order through InterLibrary Loan. See below:

Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)
Borrow from other libraries with our interlibrary loan system. *Articles & book chapters will be sent electronically and books will be available at the front desk unless you request to have them mailed to you.*

Both Sides Now

There are always 2 sides to every issue. Healthcare and healthcare law, politics, education are often controversially discussed. Use these databases to explore the chronology of a given issue, the pros/cons of the issue, and the global context or implications.

Global Issues In Context This link opens in a new window
Focuses on broad issues, such as war, genocide, terrorism, human rights, poverty, famine, globalization, world trade, nuclear proliferation, and global warming, as well as more specific events and topics that are related to these broader issues.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Covers timely issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, political science, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.

If you've got a citation

If you already have a citation, the title of journal, it's ISSN, or would prefer to browse journals by a particular subject, follow the steps below:

Click on the Journals tab from the library search bar
Choose from the following options in the drop-down menu to the left of the search box: Title begins with, title equals, title contains all words, or ISSN equals.
Enter all or part of the journal title and then select the SEARCH button. Make sure that you are entering the title of the journal, not the title of the article itself.
Locate the correct title from the results list.
Select the title with the dates that you need and choose the database name next to your preferred dates.
You will be redirected to another screen where you can search for your article.
If the journal or date you want is not available, order the article through interlibrary loan using the link below.

Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)
Borrow from other libraries with our interlibrary loan system. *Articles & book chapters will be sent electronically and books will be available at the front desk unless you request to have them mailed to you.*