Skip to Main Content

View All Library Hours including Extended Access


Assumption University Home | myPortal

Union Saint-Jean-Baptiste Archives and Special Collections : a Collection of Franco-American Resources at the Assumption University Library: USJB Conseils/Counsils

History of the Conseils

"This list of the Society's councils is impressive on two counts. First, it demonstrates the large number of councils established during the past century; in addition, a reading of the names of these councils confirms the fact that USJB at the local level remained true to its religious and historic ties, honoring patron saints, pastors, and French-Canadian heroes, as well as USJB leaders.
The men and women of these councils - officers especially, but active members as well, both past and present, deserve recognition and the gratitude of those who follow in their footsteps for they contributed substantially in building a vibrant Society. Over the years, their repeated gifts of precious time and personal devotion to so many worthy and needy Church-related and community-oriented causes—over one million dollars have been raised in the last ten years alone—have earned our undying respect and reconnaissance. To them all, we say, 'Merci du fond du coeur' - A heartfelt 'Thank you.'"  Looking Back - Forging Ahead: a Centennial History of Union Saint-Jean-Baptist by Claire Quintal, 2000.

Conseil Collection Holdings

While incomplete, the collection documents the work of the conseils in various ways. There are files on specific conseils listed below after the list of conseils and their ledgers, files on the work of unidentified conseils arranged by state (not listed here), and finally, there are the ledgers.

From 1900 until at least 1956, each year a ledger commonly titled "Dignitaires des Conseils" was created. These general ledgers document the leadership of each conseil within the organization. The collection contains those ledgers, in which the conseils are listed numerically by their assigned number. For each conseil, the year of its founding, location, key leadership positions, names of the position holders, their addresses, and occasionally overall membership of the conseil, are noted. Additionally, if the conseil closed or merged in that year, that information is also included. Starting in the 1920s, it is noted who did not speak/read French, and thus needed to be corresponded with in English.

The other grouping of ledgers originated with the individual conseils. Created over the course of their existence, they typically include membership rolls and/or minutes of meetings. Once a conseil folded, the ledgers were supposed to return to the home office in Woonsocket. Unfortunately, this did not always happen thus leaving large gaps in the collection. If ledgers did survive, they are noted below under "ledger holdings."

 

Number Name

Location

Ledger holdings
001 Saint-Jean-Baptiste Holyoke, MA 1978-1987
002 Edgar J. Martel aka Saint Jean Baptiste Woonsocket. RI
003 Saint-Antoine New Bedford. MA 1951-1965, 1965-1972
004 lnstitut Canadian Francois Woonsocket. RI
005 Saint-Jean - Baptiste Harrisville, RI 1910-1916, 1916-1929, 1929-1962
006 Saint-Jean-Baptiste Manville. RI 1935-1964, 1964-1969
007 Saint-Jean-Baptiste Boston, MA
008 Jacques Cartier Greenfield. MA 1898-1914
009 Saint-Joseph Turners Falls. Mass.
010 Saint-Jean-Baptiste Hudson. MA
011 Cremazie Framingham. MA

1906-1914, 1907-1915, 1924-1931, 1932-1942,

1901-1932, 1915-1924

012 Rochambeau-Brochu Southbridge, MA
013 Lafayette Cochituate. MA 1912-1963
014 Saint-Jean-Baptiste Amesbury, MA
015 Saint-Jean-Baptiste Brockton. MA 1942-1960 (vol 1)
016 Richelieu Franklin. MA
017 Saint-Jean-Baptiste Whitinsville. MA 1927-1957, 1901-1964, 1962-1965
018 Assoc.Saint-Jean-Baptiste Central Falls. RI 1929-1934 [shares a ledger with 79]
019 Saint-Jean-Baptiste Pawtucket. RI
020 Saint-Jean-Baptiste Rutland. VT 1949-1963
021 Saint-Jean-Baptiste Muskegon. MI 1944-1956
022 Saint-Jean-Baptiste Manistee. MI
023 Saint-Jean-Baptiste Cheboygan. MI 1914-1937 (vol 1)
024 Saint-Jean-Baptiste Saginaw. MI
025 Marquette Woonsocket. RI
026 Saint-Joseph Alpina. MI
026 D'Argenson Skinner. ME
027 Saint-Louis Cadillac. MI
028 Notre-Dame Chicago. IL
029 Union Saint-Joseph Kankakee. IL
030 Jacques Cartier Chicago. IL
030 Notre-Dame-du-Mont-Carmel Bourbonnais. IL
031 Saint-Viateur Bourbonnais. IL
032 Saint-Joseph Chicago. IL
033 Saint-Louis Chicago. IL 1939-1947
034 Champlain Newport, VT

1915-1931, 1932-1949, 1927-1953, 1937-1959,

1901-1941, 1901-1943, 1901-1949, 1901-1959

035 Saint-Laurent Winooski. VT

16 vols, 1938-2019

036 De Goesbriand Burlington. VT
037 Joseph-Guay St. Albans. VT
038 Champlain Champlain. NY
039 Charbonneau Keeseville, NY

Conseils part 2

Number Name Location Ledger holdings
040 Jacques Cartier Lynn. Mass. 1954-1973
041 Saint-Jean-Baptiste Providence. R.I.
042 Duvernay No. Attleboro. Mass.

1885-1888, 1901-1907, 1908-1920, 1920-1932, 1934-1936,

1937-1946,1975-1979, 1979-1983, 1984-1989, 1990-1996,

1997-2000

043 Bedard Fall River, Mass.
043 De Goesbriand Lyndonville, Vt.
044 Saint Jean Baptiste Newburyport, Mass. 1960-1980
045 Martial No. Grovesnordale, Conn.
046 Montcalm Pawtucket, R.I. 1936-1965
047 Saint -Jean-Baptiste Putman, Conn.
048 Champlain St. Johnsbury, Vt. 1961-1991
049 Marquette Newton. Mass.
050 Mercier Blackstone. Mass.
051 Saint-Alphonse Tupper Lake. N. Y.
052 Saint-Jean-Baptiste Danielson. Conn.
053 Saint-Jean-Baptiste Taunton. Mass.

1898-1902, 1906-1914, 1915-1923 (Book 4), 1931-1937 (Book 6),

1938-1944 (Book 7), 1944-1952 (Book 8), 1952-1961, 1969-1972,

1976-1978, 1979-1982, 1983-1990, 1932-1934 [shares ledger with

conseil 81], 1970-1976 [shares ledger with conseil 81]

054 Ligue du Sacre-Coeur Fitchburg, Mass.
055 Saint-Joseph Mapleville, R.I.
056 Franchere-Laurier Worcester. Mass.

1902-1906, 1907-1914 (vol 1), 1914-1920 (vol 2), 1920-1923 (vol 3),

1923-1926 (vol 4),1927-1932 (vol 5), 1932-1937 (vol 6),

1937-1940 (vol 7), 1941-1945 (vol 8), 1945-1951 (vol 9)

057 Rochambeau Waltham, Mass.
058 Union Canadienne Clinton. Mass.
058 Jacques Cartier Southbridge. Mass.
059 Mercier New Hartford. Conn.
060 Marie de L'Incarnation Woonsocket. R.I. 1946-1965
061 Jeanne d'Arc Newburyport. Mass. 1903-1927, 1927-1937, 1938-1958, 1958-1988
062 Brochu Southbridge. Mass. 1980-1994
063 Saint-Louis New Haven. Conn.
064 Jeanne d'Arc Waltham. Mass. 1978-1982
065 Ville-Marie Blackstone. Mass. 1951-1974
065 Sainte-Rose-de-Lima Linwood, Mass.
066 Saint-Pierre Wallingford. Conn.
067 Saint-Jean-Baptiste Schenectady. N. Y.
068 Jacques Cartier Bridgeport. Conn. 1903-1958, 1940-1962 (vol 1)

Conseils part 3

Number Name Location Ledger holdings
069 Clement Fiskdale. Mass.
070 Lafayette Westfield. Mass.
071 Bourget Redford. N. Y.
072 Laurier Beverly. Mass.

1919-1923 (vol 1), 1923-1926, 1926-1930,1930-1934,

1933-1941, 1933-1939, 1934-1939, 1939-1944,1941-1949,

1944-1951, 1951-1970

073 Lamy Spencer. Mass.
074 Florimond Willimantic, Conn. 1963-1967(vol 1)
075 Jeanne Mance Keeseville. N. Y.
076 Sainte-Cecile New Bedford. Mass.
077 Youville Fitchburg. Mass.
078 Immaculee Conception Burlington. Vt. 1956-1973
079 Notre-Dame Central Falls. R.I.

1929-1934 [shares a ledger with conseil 79], 1938-1947,

n.d. (c. 1903-1953), 1947-1973

080 Notre-Dame Hudson, Mass.
081 Sainte-Agnes Taunton, Mass.

1901-1905, 1959-1969, 1932-1934 [shares ledger with

conseil 53], 1970-1976 [shares ledger with conseil 53]

082 Taschereau Norwood, Mass. 1907-1917, 1902-1958, 1942-1955, 1910-1920
083 Ligue cles Patriotes Central Falls, R.I.
083 Saint-Muthieu Fall River, Mass
084 Pelletier Gardner, Mass.
085 Marie-Agnes Holyoke, Mass.

1903-1915, 1904-1917, 1915-1922, 1921-1939,1950-1954,

1953-1959,1904-1965, 1933-1965, 1954-1967, 1971-1974

086 Beausejour  Plymouth, Mass
087 Maisonneuve Fitchburg, Mass
088 Levis Attleboro, Mass.
089 Frontenac Warren. R.I.
090 Dullard des Ormeaux Webster, Mass
091 Gatineau Manchester, N.H
092 Chenier Lawrence, Mass
093 Langlois  Fitchburg, Mass
094 Sainte-Elizabeth Providence, R.I.
095 Notre Dame du Bon Conseil Chicago. ILL. 1947-1971 (vol 1)
096 Sainte Eugenie Manville, R.I.
097 Sainte-Cecile Newton, Mass
098 Notre Dame du Bon Secours Worth, ILL.
099 Les Zouaves W. Warwick, R.I
100 Antoine-Clement Lowell, Mass.
101 Delorme Shirley, Mass.

Conseils part 4

Number Name Location Ledger holdings
102 Labonte Derby, Conn.
103 Gagnon Putnam, Conn.
104 Mont-Carmel Ware, Mass.
104 Notre-Dame-du-Sacre-Coeur Fitchburg. Mass.
105 Saint-Edouard Piercefield, N. Y.
106 Les Zouaves Marlboro, Mass.
106 Leon XIII Marlboro, Mass.
107 Laurier Georgiaville, R.I
108 Union Saint-Joseph Worcester, Mass
108 Saint-Louis-de-Gonzague Gilbertville, Mass 1946-1969 (vol 1)
109 Raymond Arctic Centre, R.I
109 Hevey Manchester. N.H. 1936-1965 (vol 1), 1965-1969 (vol 2)
110 Laval  Augusta. Maine  1950-1963
111 Iberville Hartford, Conn.
111 Achille Forcier / Pamphile Lemay Claremont, N.H. 1949-1958 (vol 1)
112 Marguerite Bourgeois Pawtucket, R.I
113 Sainte-Cecile Willimantic, Conn 1920-1929 (vol 1), 1948-1968, 1968-1975
114 La Concorde Putnam, Conn. 1954-1968, 1976-1989
115 Sainte-Cecile Ware, Mass.
116 Sainte-Concorde Albion, R.I.
117 Notre-Dame-de-Lourdes Chicago, ILL.
118 Helene-de-Champlain Arctic, R.I.
119 Madeleine-de- Vercheres Woonsocket, R.I.
120 Chagnon  Biddeford. Maine
121 Saint-Francois So. Fitchburg, Mass.
122 Labelle Woonsocket, R.I.
123 Montcalm  Plattsburg, N. Y.
124 Sainte-Therese Greenfield. Mass
125 Saint-Jean-Baptiste Fairview, Mass. 
125 Laurier Worcester, Mass.  1918-1924, 1925-1937, 1938-1947, 1951-1957, 1955-1962
126 Marie-Stuart Pawtucket, R.I. 1960-1968 (vol 1)
127 La Jonquiere Everett, Mass. 1906-1913, 1924-1933, 1934-1952
128 Rochambeau Northampton, Mass 1928-1958, 1964-1980
129 LaSalle Cohoes, N. Y. 
130 Saint-Jean-Baptiste Colerain, Mass.

Conseils part 5

Number Name Location Ledger holdings
131 Saint-Jean-Baptiste Auburn, Maine  1950-1964, 1964-1971 (vol 1)
132 Laurier Winchendon, Mass. 
133 Marchand Holyoke, Mass.
134 Saint-Norbert West Rutland, Vt.
135 Quevillon Pittsfield, Mass
136 Mercier Barton, Vt. 1930-1956 (vol 1)
137 Marguerite de Roberval Danielson, Conn.
138 Charland Waterville, Maine 1907-1955
139 Saint-Jean-Baptiste Chicago, ILL. 1936-1963, 1963-1971 (vol 1)
140 Sainte-Catherine Bennington, Vt.
141 Montcalm Bennington, Vt.
142 Saint-Antoine Keene, N.H. 1905-1945
143 Laval Rumford, Maine
144 Sainte-Victoire Lawrence, Mass. 1961-1968 (vol1)
145 Sainte-Clothilde Lawrence, Mass. 1907-1967
146 J.-Roch Magnan Muskegon, Mich.
147 Louis-Gagnier Springfiled, Mass.
148 Notre-Dame-du-Bon-Secours Mapleville, R.I.
149 Villa-Maria Waterbury, Conn.

1905-1914, 1915-1926, 1926-1933, 1934-1940, 1940-1946, 1955-1962,

1963-1971, 1972-1977

150 Saint-Laurent Meriden, Conn. 1906-1931, 1906-1946, 1927-1938, 1928-1956, 1938-1969
151 Lafayette Skowhegan, Maine
152 Chapleau Jewett City, Conn. 1920-1947
153 Martel Livermore Fall, Maine 1939-1954
154 Mallet West Warwick, R.I.
155 Gagnier Springfiled, Mass.
156 Laval Auburn, Mass. 1957-1971
157 Laval Springvale, Maine 1957-1971
158 Gabriel Lewiston, Maine
159 Union Saint-Joseph Lewiston, Maine
160 Sainte-Therese Biddeford, Maine

1905-1930, 1905-1960, 1926-1945, 1946-1956, 1949-1955, 1956-1971,

1961-1965, 1972-1981, 1981-1983, 1983-1988, n.d.

Conseils part 6

Number Name Location Ledger holdings
161 Dame-de-la- Valtrie No. Grosvernordale, Conn.
162 Sainte-Famille E. Taunton, Mass.
163 Prefontaine Sanford, Maine
164 Jeanne Hachette Worcester, Mass. 
165 Sainte-Cecile Kankakee, Ill. 1945-1967, 1968-1971
166 Sainte-Marie  Wesfield, Mass.
167 Notre-Dame-de-Lourdes Providence, R.I.
168 Laval Skowhegan, Maine
169 De Repentigny Sanford, Maine
170 Sainte-Marguerite Northbridge, Mass.
171 Montcalm Brunswick,Maine
172 Cam Swanton, Vt.
173 Sainte-Cecile Chrisholm, Maine 1906-1926, 1906-1943, 1927-1964, 1927-1949, 1949-1976
174 Rochambeau Wauregan, Conn 2007-2010
175 Dollard Hyde Park, Mass
176 Therese Rumford, Mass.
177 Sainte-Cecile Plattsburg, N. Y.
178 Gagnon Goodyear, Conn. 1906-1931, 1949-1962 (vol 2)
179 Larocque Cambridge, Mass.
180 Saint-Georges Plainfield, Conn. 1947-1951 (vol 1)
181 Sainte-Anne Hyde Park, Mass
182 Pere Marquette Whitman, Mass.
183 Gagnon Woonsocket, R.I.
184 Juliette Woonsocket, R.I.
185 Saint-Henri Bristol, Conn.
186 Trottier Island Pond, Vt.
187 Sainte-Marie Baltic, Conn.
188 Jodoin Baltic, Conn.
189 Laval Waterbury, Conn.
190 Saint-Joseph Bradley, ILL.
191 Francoise Waterville, Maine

1906-1920, 1920-1933, 1924-1941 (2nd role), 1933-1943,

1941-1961, 1943-1952, 1952-1963, 1963-1980, 1977-1981,

1981-1986, 1983-1990, 1986-1990, 1992, 1994-1995

192 Jeanne de Chantal Gardner, Mass.
193 Richelieu West Warwick, R.I.
194 Notre-Dame-du-Sacre-Coeur Redford. N. Y.
195 Sainte-Catherine Winchendon, Mass.  1915-1936 (vol 1)1917-1959 (vol 2)

Conseils part 7

Number Name Location Ledger holdings
196 Cremazie  Moosup, Conn.
197 Saint-Gabriel Fowler, Ind.
198 Catherine A. Gaouette New Hartford, Conn
199 Sainte-Rose-de-Lima Wauregan, Conn. 1949-1980
200 Dollard Cohoes, N. Y.
201 Albuni Harrisville, R.l.
202 Alliance Syracuse, N.Y. 1945-1950 (vol 1)
203 Sainte-Cecile Meriden, Conn.
204 Saint-Pierre Easthampton, Mass
205 Sainte-Anne Champ lain Hartford, Conn. 1940-1955, 1955-1983
206 Dames Patronesses Thompsonville, Conn.
207 Lafayette Norwich, Conn.
208 Gagnon Taftville, Conn.
209 Garneau Fall River, Mass.
210 Bedard Fall River, Mass.
211 Saint-Remi Haverhill, Mass. 1923-1935 (vol 1), 1935-1966 (vol 2), 1966-1968
212 L Assomption Millbury, Mass.
213 Rev. C. Demers Somersworth, N.H.
214 Laval Aurora, ILL.
215 Laval Bath, Maine
216 Cercle Canadien St-Jean-Baptiste Ware, Mass.  
217 J.N. Jacques Lowell, Mass.
218 Laval Barre, Vt.

1920-1932, 1932-1941, 1942-1953, 1953-1963, 1963-1970,

1970-1974

219 Montmorency Westbrook, Maine

1907-1912, 1913-1945, 1914-1922, 1923-1931, 1945-1954,

1954-1981

220 Courcelles Winsted, Conn.
221 Saint-Pierre Stafford Springs, Conn.
222 Laval Lowell, Mass.
223 Rainville Danvers, Mass.
224 Bonheur Manchester, N.H.
225 Lamy Spencer, Mass. 1917-1962
226 Immaculee-Conception Holyoke, Mass. 1965-1975
227 Bernadette Fall River, Mass. 1953-1970 (vol 1)
228 Cadillac Detroit, Mich.
229 Salaberry Derry, N.H.
230 Conseil Jeanne D'arc Aldenville, Mass.
230 Sainte-Rose-de-Lima Chicopee, Mass.
231 Cheverus Fall River, Mass.
232 Frontenac Providence, R.L
233 Saint-Mathieu Fall River, Mass.
234 Saint-Jean-Baptiste Southbridge, Mass
235 Peloquin Fall River, Mass.
236 Champlain Hartford, Conn.

1910-1916 (vol 1), 1914-1927, 1925-1934 (vol 2), 1938-1962,

1938-1949 (vol 3), 1938-1962

237 Champlain Shawmut, Maine

Conseils part 8

Number Name Location Ledger holdings
238 Jacques Cartier E. Jaffrey, N.H.
239 Ste.-Therese-de-l'Enfant-Jesus New Bedford, Mass.
240 Carillon Moors Fork, N. Y.
241 L'Union Nationale Canadienne Francaise Aldenville, Mass. 1964-1969 (vol 1)
242 Notre-Dame-du-Perpetuel Secours Holyoke, Mass. 1913-1948 (vol 1)
243 Saint-Roch Fall River, Mass.
244 Saint-Louis W. Springfield, Mass.
245 Laurier Montpelier, Vt.
246 Laval Dexter, Maine
247 Leclair Manchester, N.H. 1950-1965
248 Henri T. Ledoux / Frechette Nashua, N.H. 1920-1943, 1943-1964
249 D'Youville Nashua, N.H. 1956-1971, 1970-1973, 1971-1972
250 Trudel Old Town, Maine
251 Jeanne d'Arc Augusta, Maine 1910-1921 (vol 1), 1925-1934 (vol 2), 1934-1943 (vol 3)
252 Saint-Edmond Manchester, N.H. 1933-1969 (vol 1)
253 Champlain Graniteville, Vt.

1909-1924, 1924-1970, 1927-1970, 1928-1942,

1943-1966, 1966-1971 (vol 1)

254 Notre-Dame-des- Victoires Manchester, N.H 1959-1995
255 Pere Jogues Au Sable Forks, N. Y.
256 Jeanne d'Arc Northampton, Mass. 1928-1969, 1939-1966
257 Saint-Gerard Suncook, N.H. 1909-1959, 1945-1951, 1930-1968 (vol 1)
258 Saint-Jean-Baptiste Adams, Mass. 1909-1966, 1950-1966 (vol 1)
259 Notre-Dame-de-Lourdes Pascoag, R.I.
260 Leblanc Lowell, Vt.
261 Sainte-Claire Rochester, N.H. 1943-1960, 1960-1967
262 Sainte-Anne Three Rivers, Mass.
263 Jeanne d'Arc Attleboro, Mass. 1940-1951
264 Vital Baugy Oxford, Mass.
265 Samuel de Champlain Lawrence, Mass.
266 Lafontaine So. Berwick, Maine
267 Marie-Antoinette Spencer, Mass. 1909-1949, 1950-1983
268 Lavigne Richford, Vt. 1916-1959
269 Leduc No. Adams, Mass. 1945-1957 (vol 1)
270 Sainte-Angele Brunswick, Maine

Conseils part 9

Number Name Location Ledger holdings
271 Union Saint-Joseph Waterville, Maine
272 Legrand Malone, N. Y. 1909-1912, 1909-1961, 1927-1943, 1944-1975
273 Marquette Concord, N.H.
274 Champlain Ipswich, Mass. 1955-1969
275 Saint-Jean-Baptiste Manchaug, Mass.
276 Major Mallet Beverly, Mass. 1929-1960 (vol 1)
277 Sainte-Cecile Suncook, N.H.
278 Boucher Brockton-Bridgewater, Mass.
279 Sainte Jeanne d'Arc Jewett City, Conn. 1933-1953 (vol 1)
280 J. Henri Goguen Leominster, Mass.
281 Lafayette Bristol, R.L
282 Saint-Jean-Baptiste New Market, N.H.
283 Guertin Rochester, N.H.
284 Jeanne de Valois Warren, R.I.
285 Sainte-Irene Somersworth, N.H. 1909-1968 (vol 1)
286 Jeanne-Mance Cohoes, N. Y. 1909-1966
287 Sainte-Agnes Readville, Mass.
288 Saint-Georges Bourbonnais, ILL.
289 Saint-Francois-Xavier Athol, Mass. 1909-1912, 1912-1915, 1915-1925, 1934-1974
290 Carder Torrington, Conn.
291 Sainte-Ursule Indian Orchard, Mass.
292 Notre-Dame-de-Lourdes Lowell, Mass.
293 Dubois Laconia, N.H. 1975-1987
294 Saint-Antoine-de-Padoue Burlington, Vt.
295 Marie de TIncarnation Moosup, Conn.
296 Sainte-Cecile Leominster, Mass.
297 Sainte-Rita Fall River, Mass. 1951-1970 (vol 1)
298 Helene de Champlain Champlain, N. Y.
299 Grenier Marlboro, Mass.
300 Marie-Anne Salmon Falls, N.H.
301 Clermont Richmond, Vt.
302 Labelle Constable, N. Y.
303 Sainte-Anne St. Regis Falls, N. Y.
304 Saint-Jean-Baptiste Waterbury, Conn.
305 Genest Adams, Mass.
306 Jeanne-Mance Webster, Mass. 1918-1932 (vol 1), 1932-1969 (vol 2)
307 Saint-Joseph Carrollton, Mich.
308 Montagnes Blanches Berlin, N.H.
309 Mance Bridgeport. Conn.
310 Victoire Lynn, Mass. 1950-1969 (vol 1)

Conseils part 10

Number Name Location Ledger holdings
311 Jeanne d'Arc Blackstone, Mass.
312 Anne-Marie Rivier Berlin, N.H.
313 Saint-Jean-Baptiste Indian Orchard, Mass.
314 Saint-Remi Keegan, Maine
315 Sainte-Cecile No. Adams, Mass.
316 Chagnon Chazy, N. Y.
317 Notre-Dame-de-la-Garde Pittsfield, Mass.
318 Sainte-Elizabeth Penacook, N.H.
319 Jeanne-Mance W Rutland. Vt.
320 Joseph Croteau Fort Kent. Maine
321 Martel Caribou. Maine
322 Jeanne d'Arc Malone, N. Y.
323 Sainte-Cecile Hillsgrove. R.I.
324 Saint- Thomas-d'Aquin Springfield, Mass. 1929-1939, 1940-1948, 1949-1959, 1959-1969
325 Sainte-Cecile Rutland. Vt. 1961-1978
326 Marie Antoinette Concord, N.H.
327 Notre-Dame Cambridge, Mass.
328 Saint-Laurent Centredale, R.I.
329 Notre-Dame Ogdensburg, N. Y. 1913-1950 (vol 1)
330 Montcalm Van Buren, Maine
331 Henriette Worcester, Mass.
332 Saint-Joseph Lille, Maine
333 Saint-Gerard Grand Isle, Maine
334 Saint-David St. David, Maine
335 Sainte-Cecile Providence, R.I.
336 Sainte-Cecile Pawtucket, R.I. 1953-1973, 1973-1984
337 Saint-Thomas Frenchville, Maine
338 Dionne Frenchville. Maine
339 Sacre-Coeur Manteno, III.
340 Lafayette Newport, R.I.

Conseils part 11

Number Name Location Ledger holdings
341 Saint-Michel S. Ashburnham, Mass.
342 Saint-Jean-Baptiste Fall River, Mass.
343 Baillargeon Standish, N. Y.
344 Sainte-Famille Daigle, Maine
345 Pere Migneault Rouses Pointe, N. Y.
346 Vallee Saint-Jean Fort Kent, Maine
347 Saint-Charles St. Francis, Maine
348 Saint-Jacques Farnumsville, Mass.
349 Saint-Isidore Wallagrass, Maine 1947-1953 (vol 1)
350 Sainte-Agathe St. Agatha, Maine
351 Sainte-Therese Lowell, Mass. 1914-1935, 1914-1955, 1914-1969, 1939-1968, 1960-1988
352 Decelles Westbrook, Maine
353 Sainte-Anne Lisbon, Maine
354 Sainte-Famille Saginaw, Mich.
355 (Collection Bureau) Rouses Point, N. Y.
356 (Collection Bureau) Fall River, Mass.
357 Sainte-Anne Tupper Lake, N. Y. 1962-1975
358 (Never Instituted) Ogdensburg, N.Y.
359 Immaculee-Conception Athol, Mass. 1915-1933
360 Sainte-Elizabeth Turners Falls. Mass. 1955-1971
361 Saint-Alexandre Morrisonville, N. Y.
362 Legault West Chazy, N. Y.
363 Dubois Churubusco, N. Y.
364 Sainte-Marie Eagle Lake, Maine
365 Rev. Pere Rale Madison. Maine
366 Saint-Henri Winthrop, Maine
367 Saint-Michel Stockholm, Maine
368 Goulet Ellenburg Corner. N. Y.
369 Marquette Linwood, Mass.
370 A.C. LaRiviere Presque Isle, Maine
371 Sacre-Coeur Caribou, Maine
372 Richard Bay City, Mich.
373 Saint-Jean-Baptiste New Britain, Conn.
374 Laurier Fall River, Mass. 1952-1970 (vol 1)
375 Champlain Cohoes, N. Y.
376 Rev. J.-H. Cote Amesbury, Mass.
377 Rev. J.-F. Audet Winooski, Vt.

Conseils part 12

Number Name Location Ledger Holdings
378 Saint-Francois-Xavier Acushnet, Mass.
379 Sainte-Anne New Bedford. Mass.
380 Notre-Dame-des-Victoires Boston, Mass.
381 Saint-Vincent-de-Paul No. Troy, Vt. 
382 Guay So. Troy, Vt.
383 Benoit XV Salem, Mass.
384 Buisson Bristol, Conn. 1983-1996, 1986
385 Charland Millbury, Mass.
386 Lafleche Pascoag, R.I.
387 Saint-Georges Chicopee, Mass. 1938-1968 (vol 1)
388 Saint-Adolphe Nasonville-Mohegan, R. I. 1923-1955 (vol 1)
389 Saint-Bernard No. Fairhaven, Mass.
390 (Never Instituted)  
391 Association Frontenac Los Angeles, Calif.
392 Arthur Hardwick, Vt.
393 Cardinal Begin Morrisville, Vt.
394 Pierre-Ernest Hyde Park, Vt.
395 Michaud Orleans, Vt.
396 Rodier Ludlow, Mass.
397 Laval Watertown, Conn. 1949-1956, 1981-1983
398 Desrochers Ludlow, Mass. 1925-1968, 1952-1969
399 Saint-Joseph Occum, Conn.
400 Saint-Andre Methuen, Mass.
401 Sainte-Famille Sanford, Maine 1925-1934
402 Boissonneault Irasburg, Vt.
403 Saint-Louis-de-France Willimansett, Mass.
404 Potvin No. Agawam, Mass.
405 Sainte-Therese Faust, N. Y.
406 Saint-Antoine Somerset, Mass.
407 Duvernay Portland. Maine 1963-1969
408 Gendreau Brattleboro, Vt.
409 Saint-Augustin Montpelier, Vt. 1954-1971
410 DesRochers Enosburg Falls, Vt.
411 Huard Somersville, Conn.
412 Begin Northfield, Vt.
413 Sainte-Croix Lewiston, Maine 1951-1971, 1971-1997
414 Notre-Dame Saco, Maine

Conseils part 13

Number Name Location Ledger holdings
415 Laflamme Mexico, Maine
416 Gatineau So. Norwalk, Conn. 1930-1942 (vol 1), 1943-1954 (vol 2), 1954-1971 (vol 3)
417 Pothier Peabody, Mass.
418 Hebert Pawtucket. R.I. 1931-1944 (vol 1)
419 Laliberte Salem, Mass. 1952-1966
420 Saint-Jean-Baptiste Marlboro, Mass.
421 Pelletier New York. N. Y.
422 Saint-Gregoire New London, Conn.
423 Christ-Roi Centerville, R.I.
424 Desrosiers Faust, N.Y.
425 Jean-Bertrand Manchester, N.H.
426 Saint-Etienne Dodgeville, Mass.
427 Saint-Rosaire Randolph, Vt.
428 Saint-Mathieu Central Falls, R.I. 1951-1973
429 Sainte-Odile Central Falls, R.I.
430 D'Argy Millinocke,. Maine
431 Saint-Georges Westport-Dartmouth, Mass. 1942-1970
432 Sacre-Coeur Greenville, N.H.
433 Sainte-Therese New Bedford, Mass. 1980-1987, 1990-2001
434 Sacre-Coeur New Bedford, Mass.
435 Rev. Louis-A. Brodeur  Franklin, N.H.
436 Saint-Leo Howland, Maine 1948-1956 (vol 1)
437 Sainte-Marguerite Old Orchard Beach, Maine
438 L 'Assomption Chicopee, Mass.
439 Lafayette Bellingham, Mass. 1957-1971, 1972-1979, 1980-1982, 1983-1990
440 Saint James Manville, R.I.
441 Saint George Westport, Mass.
442 Saint-Louis-de-France  Somerset, Mass.

Conseils Folder Information


 

Conseil Edgar J. Martel no.2 Woonsocket, RI; Program evens; anniversay booklet; rules and regulations booklet, 1901; clippings; photographs; French language survey: 1939 St. Jean Baptiste parade; decorative badge Various
Conseil Saint Jean Baptiste no.6 Manville, RI; French language use survey; clipping; photograph Various
Conseil Saint Jean Baptiste no.7 Boston, MA; French language use survey; 50th anniversay photographs, 1951; event tickets 1901,1905 Various
Conseil Jacques-Cartier no.8 Greenfield, Massachusetts; Drill team photo, 1925; 1st prize for parade float July 4th 1926 Various
Conseil Saint Joseph no.9 Turner Fall, MA; Photographs; correspondence; parade photograph Various
Conseil Saint Jean Baptiste no.14 Clippings regarding demolition of St. John's club by eminent domain and subsequent lawsuit for more money from the town.  
Conseil Saint Jean Baptiste no.15 Brockton, MA; 50th Anniversary photos and clippings; Portrait of Edouard J. Cormier Various
Conseil Saint Jean Baptiste no. 20 Rutland, Vermont; French language use survey Various
Conseil Saint Jean Baptiste no.21 Muskegon, Michigan; Men's Drill team, 1910; clipping; portrait of Eugene Leboeuf Various
Conseil Saint Jean Baptiste no.24 Saginaw, Michigan; Portrait of Rev. Moise with group of officers from the conseil; letters regarding French Cultural Fund. Various
Conseil Union Saint Joseph no.29 Kankakee, Illinois; French language use survey Various
Conseil Saint Joseph no.32 Chicago, Illinois; portrait of Conseil Pres. Pierre Pouliot c. 1920's Various
Conseil Saint Louis no.33 Chicago, Illinois; Portrait of Alfred Balduc; Celebrating St. John the Baptiste Day Survey Various
Conseil Saint Laurent no.35 Winooski, Vermont; 1951 boys drum and bugle corps; photographs; correspondence; clippings; 50th Anniversary souvenirs; French language use survey. Various
Conseil Saint Jean Baptiste no.41 Providence, RI: Photograph; correspondence; French language use survey Various
Conseil Saint Jean Baptiste no.44 Newburyport, Mass; French language use survey;  Celebrating St. John the Baptiste Day Survey; clipping Various
Conseil Saint Jean Baptiste no.53 Taunton, Mass; French language use survey; Honor Guard photo; photographs of conseil hall; souvenir booklets Various
Conseil Sainte Rose de Lima no.65 Linwood, Mass; Drill team photographs; Celebrating St. John the Baptiste Day Survey Various
Conseil Jacques-Cartier no.68 Bridgeport, Conn; Portrait of N.P. Bissonnette, president of conseil; portrait of Joseph LaBreque; Conseil suspended in 1963 Various
Conseil Lamy no.73 Spencer, Mass.; French language use survey; merged with conseil no.267 in 1911. Conseil 267 suspended in 1967 Various
Conseil Taschereau no.82 Norwood, Mass; French language use survey; 1924 drill team photograph; correspondece regarding 60th anniversay in 1964 Various
Conseil St. Mathieu no.83 Fall River, Massachusetts; letters regarding French Cultural Fund. Various
Conseil Sainte Elizabeth no.94 Providence, Rhode Island; ticket to inaugertion celebration of conseil in 1904 Various
Conseil Notre Dame du Bon Conseil no.95 Chicago, Illinois; French language use survey; correspondence Various
Conseil Saint Eugenie no.96 Manville, RI; French language use survey; clipping; correspondence Various 
Conseil Notre Dame du Bon Secours no.98 Chicago, Illinois; Portrait of Marie Laura Sauve, president of the conseil; conseil suspended in 1964  Various
Conseil Les Zouaves no.99 French language use survey; letters regarding French Cultural Fund; clippings photographs  
Conseil Leon Thirteenth (XIII) no.106 Marlborough, Massachusetts; portrait of 4 couples in formal wear; See also Conseil Sainte Marie, no.299 from Marborough also.  No. 106 dissolved in 1904  Various
Conseil Saint Louis de Gonzague no.108 Gilbertville, Mass; French language use survey; letters regarding French Cultural Fund.  Various

Conseils Folder Information 2

 

Conseil Achille Forcier [ Pamphile-Lemay] no.111 Claremont, New Hampshire; photographs; Details and names on back of photo; conseil suspended in 1970 Various
Conseil Saint Francois no.121 Fitchburg, Massachusetts; French language use survey; letters regarding French Cultural Fund. Various
Conseil LaSalle no.129 French language use survey; Celebrating St. John the Baptiste Day Survey  
Conseil Saint Jean Baptiste no.139 Chicago, Illinois; Photographs of woman's drill teams, 1926,1918; portrait Amedee Lapointe;  Celebrating St. John the Baptiste Day Survey; French language use survey Various
Conseil Sainte Victoire no.144 Lawrence, Massachusetts; Drill team photographs 1940's; drill team competition program; French language use survey Various
Conseil Saint Laurent no.150 Meriden, Conn.; Souvenir booklet; drill team photographs; Details and names on back of photo; membership cards; French language use survey Various
Conseil Saint Joseph no.159 French language use survey; letters regarding French Cultural Fund; Clippings mostly regarding Bill Dunlap; Anniversary Souvenir booklet; photograph of Albert Dumas  
Conseil Prefontaine no.163 Sanford, Maine; clippings; photographs; Details and names on back of photo; French language use survey Various
Conseil Sainte Cecile no.165 Kankakee, Illinois; French language use survey; Celebrating St. John the Baptiste Day Survey; Photograph of women's drill team 1926; portrait of Eva Lapurtelook Various
Conseil Sainte Maguerite no.170 Northbridge, Mass; French language use survey; letters regarding French Cultural Fund; clippings; photograph Various
Conseil Sainte Cecile no.173 Chisholm, Maine; French language use survey; photographs  
Conseil Sainte Therese  no.176 Rumford, Maine; Drill team photographs 1920's-1940's; portrait  of children sitting under USJB plaque from 1929; portrait of Ethel M. Caron. Various
Conseil Larocque no.179 Cambridge, Mass.; French language use survey; organization documents; portrait of Ralph Joseph Thibodeau. Various
Conseil Saint Georges no. 180 Plainfield, Conn.; letters regarding French Cultural Fund; Drill team photograph from 1922; portrait of Alphonse Loiselle Various
Conseil Trottier; no. 186 Island Pond, Vermont; letters regarding French Cultural Fund; Celebrating St. John the Baptiste Day Survey; clippings; correspondence Various
Conseil Saint Gabriel no.197 Portait of Damase Frechette, founding president of Conseil Saint Gabriel. Various
Conseil Saint Pierre no.204 Easthampton, Mass; Celebrating St. John the Baptiste Day Survey; letters regarding French Cultural Fund; photographs; organization documents Various
Conseil Saint Remi no.211 Haverhill, Massachusetts; French language use survey; clippings Various
Conseil Courcelles no.220 Winsted, Conn; French language use survey Various
Conseil Rainville no.223 Danvers, Mass; French language use survey; letters regarding French Cultural Fund; Conseil suspended in 1966 Various
Conseil Salaberry no.229 Derry, New Hampshire; 1923 Drill Team photograph; Details and names on back of photo Various
Conseil Jeanne D'arc no.230 Aldenville, Mass; 1923 Drill Team photograph; Details and names on back of photo;  not sure why the same number is used for Conseil Saint Rose de Lima Various
Conseil Saint Rose de Lima no.230 Chicopee, Massachusetts; photographs; not sure why the same number is used for Conseil Jeanne D'arc. Various
Conseil Sainte Claire no.233 Fall River, Massachusetts; French language use survey; Drill team photographs 1930's -1940's; changed to Saint Mathieu in October of 1952 Various
Conseil Sainte Therese de l'Enfant Jesus no.239 New Bedford, Massachusetts; French language use survey; letters regarding French Cultural Fund Various
Conseil L'Union Nationale Canadienne Francaise no.241 Aldenville, Mass; letters regarding French Cultural Fund; photographs; membership card  
Conseil Saint Roch no.243 Fall River, Mass; Drill team photographs 1930's and 1940's; letters regarding French Cultural Fund Various
Conseil Trude no.250 Old Town, Maine; 1922 Drill team photograph; French language use survey; Celebrating St. John the Baptiste Day Survey Various
Conseil Saint Edmond no.252 Manchester, New Hampshire; French language use survey; notification of members of Conseil Saint Edmond will now be part of Conseil Gatineau no.61, of Manchester as of November 1969 Various
Conseil Saint Gerard no.257 Suncook, New Hampshire; French language use survey; letters regarding French Cultural Fund; clippings Various
Conseil Marie Antoinette no.267 Spencer, Mass. Drill team photograph from 1922; Suspended 1967 Various
Conseil Lavigne no.268 Richford, Vermont; photograph taken at the 15th anniversay of the conseil in June 1931; correspondence; Conseil suspended in 1967 Various

Conseils Folder Information

Conseil Champlain no.274 Ipswich,Mass; Drill team photograph from 1925; Conseil supspended in 1960 Various
Conseil Sainte Irene no.285 Somersworth, New Hampshire; photographs with details and names on back of photo; French language use survey Various
Conseil Jeanne Mance no.286 Cohoes, NY;French language use survey; photographs; conseil documents; anniversary ephemera  
Conseil Saint Georges no.288 Bourbonnais, Illinois; portrait of Joseph Ruel Various
Conseil Saint Francois Xavier no.289 Athol, Massachusetts; Drill team photographs from 1922,1925; letters regarding French Cultural Fund Various
Conseil Saint Ursule no.291 Indian Orchard, Massachusetts; letters regarding French Cultural Fund; French language use survey; clippings; photograph Various
Conseil Sainte Rita no.297 Fall River, Mass; Drill team photographs 1930's and 1940's; letters regarding French Cultural Fund; French language use survey Various
Conseil Sainte Marie no.299 Marlborough, Mass Drill team photographs 1920's-1940's; photograph with details and names on back of photo Various
Conseil Saint Jean Baptiste no.313 Indian Orchard, Mass; photograph of Wilfrid Gendreau Various
Conseil Notre Dame de la Garde no.317 Pittsfield, Mass; French language use survey; photograph Mother's Day 1949; letters regarding French Cultural Fund; Photograph of award to Anna Lussier; memo on special award presentation to Bernadette Grady; Conseil suspended in 1973 Various
Conseil Saint Gerard no.333 Grand Isle, Maine; French language use survey; letters regarding French Cultural Fund Various
Conseil Sainte Isidore no.349 Wallagrass, Maine; French language use survey Various
Conseil Sainte Therese no.351 Lowell, Massachusetts; French language use survey; letters regarding French Cultural Fund; photographs with details and names on back of photo Various
Conseil Sainte Elizabeth no.360 Turner Fall, MA;  French language use survey; letters regarding French Cultural Fund; drill team photograph 1925 Various
Conseil Sainte Marie no.364 Eagle Lake, Maine; French language use survey Various
Conseil Saint Henri no.366 Winthrop, Maine; letter regarding French Cultural Fund Various
Conseil Rev. J.F. Audet no.377 Winooski, Vermont; clippings Various
Conseil Notre Dame des Victoires no.380 Boston, Mass; drill team photograph 1925; conseil suspended in 1935 Various
Conseil St. Georges no.387 Chicopee Falls, Mass; French language use survey; letters regarding French Cultural Fund; Celebrating St. John the Baptiste Day Survey; French Cultural Works Fund; member card; 25th anniversay souvenir booklet; drill team  photograph 1940's Various
Conseil Sainte Therese no.405 Faust, NY; letters regarding French Cultural Fund; 1926,1936 Drill Team photographs Various
Conseil Sainte Croix no.413 Lewiston, Maine; French language use survey; letters regarding French Cultural Fund; Clippings; correspondence; drill team photographs; photographs Various
Conseil Gaineau no. 416 South Norwalk, Conn; French language use survey; photograph with details and names on back of photo; organizational documents; conseil suspended in 1971 Various
Conseil Saint Jean Baptiste no.420 Marlborough, Mass; French language use survey; letters regarding French Cultural Fund; clippings Various
Conseil Sainte Etienne no.426 Dodgeville, Mass ; conseil members photograph from 1941 Various
Conseil Saint Georges no.431 Westport-Dartmouth, Mass; French language use survey; letter regarding French Cultural Fund; celebration clippings Various
Conseil Saint Leo no.436 Howland, Maine; French language use survey 1963
Conseil Sainte Margerite no.437 Old Orchard Beach, Maine; French language use survey; letters regarding French Cultural Fund; clippings; photographs with details and names on back of photo Various
Conseil Saint James no.440 Manville, RI; photographs; clippings Various
Conseil Saint Georges no.441 Clippings; photographs; charter/conseil presentation program. 2nd to last conseil established by the USJB Various