EXTENT: 1 bankers box
OTHER STORAGE FORMATS: Born digital files. See archivist for access.
LINEAR FEET: .75 linear feet
LANGUAGE: English and French
PROVENANCE/SOURCE OF ACQUISITION: Raymond H. (Ray) Bacon, retired founding manager of the Woonsocket's Museum of Work & Culture, donated the collection in October, 2021. The plays in this collection were created for the museum, most of which were authored by Ray Bacon beginning in 2001.
OWNERSHIP AND LITERARY RIGHTS: The Museum of Work & Culture Theater Collection is the physical property of the French Institute, Assumption University. Literary rights, including copyright, belong to the authors or their legal heirs and assigns.
CITE AS: Museum of Work & Culture Theater Collection, French Institute, Assumption University
RESTRICTIONS ON ACCESS: The collection is available to researchers and other interested parties. Permission for use or reproduction can be obtained from the director of the French Institute, and is subject to the Institute’s user policies.
SCOPE & CONTENT: The collection fills one banker’s box. Most of the contents are undated but were created c. 2001-2010. Some of the plays were edited and/or revised multiple times, depending on the audience and/or cast. For nearly every play in this collection, there is a script, as well as occasional publicity, images, or research. The collection is arranged alphabetically by play title.
The plays in this collection are centered around key themes and topics in Woonsocket history, most notably the Franco-American experience in the city. Difficulties around immigration and factory work are main themes, but home life, baseball, WWI, WWII, and politics are also addressed.
The bulk of the collection includes printed material, with three DVDs and one VHS tape of specific performances. However, the collection also includes born digital files related to the various plays. Like the printed material, the born digital materials are mostly composed of scripts, with some images and publicity.
ARRANGEMENT: This collection is organized into one series. More general records appear first, after which the plays are presented in alphabetical order by title.
Full Finding Aid:
The French Institute follows the academic calendar of Assumption University. Exceptions to our regular hours may be found here.
Librarian/Archivist of the French Institute
508-767-7000 ext. 7495
For reasons of preservation, French Institute collection materials do not circulate; however, non-rare materials are allowed to circulate through the d’Alzon Library or inter-library loan with the director’s permission.
It should be noted that the Institute’s collection includes a number of Franco-American newspapers from the New England region. Most consist of bound copies and nearly all have been microfilmed. To preserve the bound volumes, the Institute encourages scholars to consult the microfilm copies whenever they are available, for example, at the American Antiquarian Society or the Boston Public Library.